current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Wildlife

May 29, 2003, 10:38 AM

I had my first night at the wildlife center and it was great. I watched a baby squirrel get fed. That little bugger was sure making a lot of noise. He latched right on the syringe with the formula, gripping it with his front paws.

There are a ton of baby racoons in right now. They are SO cute. They chatter and make a huge mess. A lot of baby opossums and a weasel. I guess weasel's are prolific around here but I have yet to see them. It was munching on a couple of dead mice.

I held a mallard duck so that they could tube feed him. He was not happy and sounded really stuffy, like he had an upper resp. infection. He tried to quack but it came out more like a croak. I think he was attacked by a dog.

Note to self: Do not open any more freezers to satisfy your sick curiosity. There are dead birds, dead fish, dead rats, dead mice, dead quail, all to feed the various wildlife. You have to thaw them out. Second note to self:Do not open freezers that are labled NON FOOD items. These freezers contain dead animals that are not meant for food. Or so I hope. They're animals that were brought in that didn't make it. I have no idea why they're being kept in the freezer and not sent to the big old dead freezer that the rest of the animals go to.

I got to empty the dead bird bucket into the main dead freezer and the girl with me said "Ok, are you ready? Hold your breath" and threw open the door as I ran in and emptied out the dead bird sack. There are buckets of dead cats and dogs. I didn't look to see what I was dumping out.

I'm hoping writing about this will purge my system because it was a somber experience and I'm not real fond of eating anything squishy today. I just don't have an appetite. This could be a good thing.


last - next

1 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge