current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

"It's more like a full-body dry heave set to music."

November 12, 2002, 5:18 PM

"It's more like a full-body dry heave set to music."

daddee, pees baby wan downn.These were the words uttered from Boo Boo because she was sick of sitting in her high chair. Her body language was pretty much giving this away as she was contorting her body in ways only seen in The Exorcist.

Nothing to report today. Not that we're all sitting on pins and needles waiting.

At least I had a cute quote from the baby of the house. And she dances like Elaine from Seinfeld. I don't know where she learned it, but I assure you I watched no episodes of Seinfeld while pregnant. She may be dance-retarded in some respect. Her dad loves to dance, I hate dancing more than anyone other dance-hater on earth. My brother might be a close second or may even tie the dance-hater list. So she's an in between of the both of us. It's a shame. She does like to sing she has a good baby voice. She likes to sing Happy dee daw to us. Then I start singing happy dee daw and she says in her little snooty baby voice..."nah." That's no.Lip sync it momeee.

I'm still dizzy today. I haven't smoked crack lately, so I'm not sure what the problem is. I was sure it was one of those painless migraines. Apparently not. I turn my head only to have the room have to play catch up with my eye balls. Maybe I just need more coffee. I'm sure that has to be it.

Headliners and Legends of Ancient Greece, hosted by Mattikus Laurus

Disney totally fucked up Hercules. No mention how Zeus was a total philanderer and that Hara wasn't the mother of Hercules at all. They took 3 stories and made Hercules. Hercules never rode a pegasus. The book I have on Greek Mythology doesn't really flow either. "Others say that Zeus hated the impious bronze men, and that Phaethon fell to his death in the Po ..."

Right there you've already lost me. Instead of saying Zeus "visited" so and so in a cave, just say Zeus screwed so&so. I need simple, crude language.

Tomorrow, Neleus and Pelias.

This is a bunch of messed up stories. Uncles marrying nieces. It's icky.

If you haven't stopped reading by this point, you might want to stop now because the following is vegan info. BORING.

Total afterthought here on cheese. Spousal bought me Amy's feta and spinach something. The cheese is rennin (or rennant) free. Rennin is what they use to coagulate cheese. And how do the cheese scientists obtain rennin. Let's take a look, shall we?

Excerpt from Meatless Meals for Working People. The recipes are not that great. I could come up with most of these. What's totally invaluable is the research the two authors did on fast food chains and what's in the fast food. BTW, Wendy's is the best for giving out nutrition info and going into detail about what certain ingredients are used for and why they're used. Oh yeah, here's the excerpt: "Cheese is often made with rennet or rennin. The enzyme, rennin, is obtained from milk fed calves. After butchering, the fourth stomach is removed and freed of its food content. After this the stomach goes through several steps including being dry-salted, washed, scraped to remove surface fat, stretched onto racks where moisture is removed, then finally ground and mixed with a salt solution until the rennin is extracted. There are some cheeses that are made with vegetable, fungal or microbial enzymes. Some cheeses, such as the case with Kraft cheeses, may use a blend of animal and microbial enzymes."

Soy and almond cheeses are pretty good and surprisingly, they melt.

Another note, some sugar companies process sugar through a bone char. Also when you see Mono and diglycerides in an ingredients list, this is commonly animal (cow or hog) derived. The term "Natural Flavors" is also generally animal derived. Gelatin I knew was made from bones, skins, hooves and tendons of cows, pigs, fish and other animals. I never thought of Glycerine as being animal based.

I think it's almost impossible to be totally vegan these days, unless you're like the woman at my mom's church who does not cook her food. How could you not cook your food? Lucretia is mostly vegetarian but is still working on the fish thing. I read a great book, "Becoming Vegan", and they talk about how fish aren't "exactly swimming in pristine waters". I was going through the same boat (no pun intended), because I love sushi and shell fish. But apparently fish hold a lot of pesticides, 10 times more than any other animal. I read it and was grossed out. I don't know if I will never eat fish again, but I haven't for quite a while now.

I'm done.


last - next

0 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge