current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Night walking - not as in hooker..more like Dog walking

December 07, 2002, 10:00 PM

Ring ring.

"Hi, my name is blah blah, could you trade your Saturday for my Friday night to walk dogs at the shelter?"

"Oh yeah, that'd be fine."

Dumbass.

I'm scared of the dark. It's an abnormal fear but at the same time not an abnormal fear since bad things happen in the dark more than they do in daytime.

I spent the whole time whipping around with the flashlight, hyperventilating, tripping over the poor fat dogs I was walking (I had some beefy dogs tonight, they looked like they'd been eating watermelons whole) and thinking the nature trail looked a lot like a scene out of the Blair Witch Project. I heard a lot of noises out there.

Mostly it was the dog's breathing.

This is where it gets ugly. At the end of the nature trail and into the parking lot, someone drove up with her yippy dog and a pitbull in the backseat. She had the window rolled down about a foot and a half. The pitbull decided to struggle out of the window because my dog was looking pretty good. This lady was yelling at her dog and I'm pretty much wetting my pants because I think I'm going to be involved in a brawl involving a pitbull which is pretty much my worst fear. To be gutted by a pitbull. Turned out to be nothing.

I didn't like the people on that shift either. There was a stupid redhead who had zero control over the dogs. I'm no expert, but I don't think you let the dogs run, dragging you behind as you flail wildly around. "This dog is freaking me out!" That's because you're a dumbass.

That's ok though. I'm a fellow dumbass.


last - next

3 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge