current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

-

December 10, 2002, 3:21 PM

Second entry for today.

This is to faynilla if she happens by this entry.

I don't think you sound dumb at all. Wicca is definitely alternative and to me it's what you make it. Wiccans often believe or call upon deity's (gods or goddesses) to invoke a certain feeling...Hmmm...not explaining this well.

"The universe is so enormous that our minds cannot understand it all at once, only in parts. We know that different people have different names they use for Goddesses and gods. Each of us has a piece of the puzzle, and the more pieces we place together, the more we can understand about the whole. No one group or piece has all the picture; no one idea is right for everybody. The Goddess tradition teaches us to respect other beliefs and ways of thinking.

Pagans practice magic. That doesn't mean we can just wave a wand and turn mice into horses. Magic is a way of training our imagination to make pictures and sounds and feelings and even smells in our minds that are so clear they almost seem to be real. When we say we practice, we're not kidding, because it takes a lot of practice, just as it does to become a good dancer or baseball player. Magic can't turn straw into gold. But with magic, we can change the way we feel about things, and sometimes that can change things outside us to. Magic can changed the energy around us and when energy changes, new things can happen. We believe that using magic to harm somebody is not only wrong, but stupid."

I grew up Lutheran, so trying to get rid of my notions of what witches are was a hard task. I myself don't believe in anything but one god. Magic is a lot like meditation to train your mind to think positively. I think using the God/Goddess is to try to invoke a certain feeling. I believe that there is evil, but I don't believe there is hell.

I think people are reincarnated. I feel that we come back over and over again for a while so our spirit can learn lessons. I believe there is another plane of existence, sort of like heaven, where our souls rest to get ready for another incarnation.

That's just some of what I believe. My sister in law is totally Christian and that works for her. From what I've learned over the years, I never put down anyone's beliefs. I always think it's good to question whatever faith you have because that's how you learn.

Anyway, blah blah blah.


last - next

2 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge