current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Christmas

December 26, 2002, 6:43 PM

Being Scandahoovian, we celebrate on Christmas Eve. We went to my mom's church for the Christmas Eve service. I swear they turned Catholic because the service was an hour and 20 minutes. Jess Jess (niece) was pretty loud. The people that had been sitting in front of us moved up a few pews after communion. I would have too. Of course we think she's cute as hell. Spousal took Boo and my brother took his son Zach to the nursery. We got back to my mom's house where C was waiting (sister in law, didn't go to church, watched big screen TV) where we opened presents.

This morning spousal's parental units got here at about 8:30 and we celebrated with the girls until they had to go with their dad at 11. They were great! They picked out a Lava lamp and a Christmas decoration for spousal and I. Their dad showed up with his girlfriend. She had bought us a decoration; a snowman. Very cool of her.

It was a relaxing Christmas. Spousal, sister and I did cooking. I did appetizers (pakora's and Gulab Jamun's) Spousal made Keema curry and C made a curried cabbage and Dal (yellow lentil soup). Oh oh oh, and C made the naan. It was really great and I didn't even stuff myself. I think C did. She was lying on the floor making funny sounds.

It's been raining non-stop today. Somewhere, some radio station made the comment that it's pretty dry today. What fucked up planet are you on buddy?

I showed up at the shelter just to see if they needed extra dog walkers. There was one volunteer there, myself and then a dude showed right after I walked my first round. I was afraid that people would forget about their shifts and the dogs wouldn't get walked. Normally there's at least 4 volunteers and I knew the shelter was pretty full. I wanted to go into the cat ISO (isolation) to say hi, but we're not supposed to interact with one set of animals and then say hi to the next. Makes sense.

My MIL made me a wool shawl. It's not doing me any good; I'm freezing my ass off right now as my cat has taken it over.

I was reading C's Indian cookbook. It gives info on what foods are from what region. Apparently Indian's have lots of snacks. Their world revolves around food. And they have LOTS of snacks. I want that in my life. Lots of snacks.


last - next

1 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge