current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

-

August 18, 2003, 12:35 PM

*****Thanks Judy about the "add" vs. "ad"! I knew someone would see something I didn't. I read the thing quite a few times too!

I'm going to print my letter here to see if it looks right. I might just then erase it too. I dunno.

August 18, 2003

Ingrid E. Newkirk

Peta

501 Front Street

Norfolk, VA23510

To Whom It May Concern:

I found your recent ad campaign regarding parents who feed meat to their children inexcusable. The add showed an overweight child eating meat and the quotation said something to the effect of "feeding meat to children is child abuse." I find that statement from PETA very irresponsible. We all know that there is an increase in child obesity and it is not due to children eating meat. It has to do with a combination of fast food, processed foods, too much TV and too little exercise.

As many people as there are who do not eat meat and find it barbaric, I would guess there are 3 times as many people that eat meat because they truly believe it is good for you. I�d venture to say they feel it would be child abuse not to feed their children meat. Most of us were raised on meat products and have trouble accepting the alternatives to meat.

I am vegetarian. I�m also a huge animal rights activist. I volunteer my time to my local shelter 7 hours a week. I�ve been a supporter of PETA and donated not just money, but time writing letters to different organizations that do not take animal welfare seriously.

Long ago, I viewed PETA as an organization that would stop at nothing to get their point across. To me, PETA�s message included scare tactics, illegal acts, and add campaigns like the particular one mentioned in the first paragraph. I really thought that in recent times PETA was changing. I thought they were becoming more responsible with the way they chose to get their message across. When I saw your add with the overweight child and saw the message stating that it was child abuse to feed meat to your child, I knew I was wrong. It�s the same PETA and a PETA I no longer wish to support.

Please take me off all PETA mailing lists.

Sincerely,

Bettyalready Ready


last - next

7 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge