current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

-

September 26, 2004, 8:16 PM

My sister in law got back from back east. She was in MA.

"There aren't any Starbucks there."

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

I'm sorry. This information doesn't compute. Say again?

"There are no Starbucks, there are many Dunkin' Donuts though."

"Do they have latte's and mocha's and stuff?"

"No, they have coffee in styrofoam cups. I did ask them if they had Americano's and the lady just looked at me funny. I told her just give me two shots of espresso in a 12 oz. cup, fill it with hot water an inch from the top and then fill the rest with cream. She looked at me like I was insane."

I'm still stuck on this No Starbucks thing.

When they say Seattlites are stuck on coffee, they're really not kidding. I give a shit not if it sounds like we're spoiled. When you love coffee and have it good, it's difficult going back to coffee from the can. It just is. We're not rich and mom made the comment there are things we choose to do. Like you give up something in life to have something that you really want and enjoy.

And yes, there's more to life than Starbucks. There's Caffe Ladro's, Cafe Vivace, Coffee Messiah, Perkengruven and many more. Not to mention all the other coffee shacks around all over the place.

So yeah, no Starbucks.

They had a good time and training was intense. I asked SIL if she slept and she said sort of. She said there was a damn chipmunk that started chattering all night long. So she had to tell herself that the chipmunk was autistic and had to do this repetitive behavior over and over again.

I think I wouldn't have had that kind of attitude.


last - next

0 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge