current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

-

December 13, 2004, 4:04 PM

So breastfeeding talk ahead. You may want to skip it.

Inverted nipple talk ahead.

I'm going on my 4th kid. I've always had trouble breast feeding because of inverted nipples. Which I didn't know where caused by too short milk ducts and causes the nipple to suck in instead of pop out. Popped out nipples make for easier breastfeeding. And so breastfeeding has been a huge hassle. I wrote about breastfeeding in public and I would do it, however I couldn't do it discreetly because I have to pull my boob out, put the breast shield on while the baby cries and gets more mad, then won't latch on and then I'm stressing out...pain in the ass.

Pumping is a huge pain in the rear end-quarters, but I do it.

So then I saw those breast shells that apparently you're supposed to wear BEFORE you have the baby and I never knew that. They're also great while you start out breastfeeding to help the sore nipple issue and then they provide relief.

Then on my baby center email I found a comment from a woman who said that she gave up on breastfeeding but then she saw

THE AVENT NIPLETTE, which permanantely corrects the inverted nipple thing, but you start to wear these dudes BEFORE you have the baby.

They talk about how breast feeding is best, but man, even though all OB's say "Hey, you've got inverted nipplies!", they say nothing about what you can do to prepare for breastfeeding. It would serve them well to teach women BEFORE they breastfeed because breastfeeding is a pain for a lot of women. I've never known anyone to have an easy time with it.

So you have the baby and you've got HUGE boobs and they're engorged and painful and the baby can't latch on because the nipples are flat or worse yet, they're inverted. No wonder women give up. The nurses in the hosptial are good about helping, albeit somewhat militant and give you attitude if you choose formula. There's a lot more distress than a person could ever imagine about breastfeeding.

If I had any clue before hand what I could learn or do to make it any easier, what to expect, then I'd probably have breastfed all the kids for longer.

Back to the Niplette, $50. I've found it on only 2 US sites. One for $52 and one was charging $74.

It would be worth it had I known about it a few months ago. So I'll have to work with it.

Damn nipples.


last - next

0 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge