current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

-

March 21, 2005, 6:37 AM

Could you honestly watch someone starve to death?

I couldn't. If that happened to me, I'd want my brother or parents to make the decision to keep the feeding tube in or not to.

Because a spouse isn't someone who loves you unconditionally. They can love you, but not like your parents or siblings. Sure, not everyone has parents or siblings that love them or that they love. But I do. It's not that I don't trust Lee because I do. If I told him I would want to be kept alive, he'd do it and I know he'd be a part of my care.

Terr S's husband may have talked himself into saying he's doing the right thing. I compare him to the dad who wanted the words "Under God" taken out of the pledge. They are both doing something they think is right for the wrong reasons. They're making a statement for their own purposes.


Her quality of life is not good. No one's arguing that. But he's moved on. He has two kids by another woman. If her parents want to take over her care, what is it to him? You can't tell me she doesn't know her parents. If they want to take over, then so be it.

That's just how I feel. What kind of person could watch another person starve to death? And actually, she'd die of dehydration. That's painful.

That's just my opinion. I couldn't watch someone starve.

I wonder if I'm going to have to highlight my comments section forever to be able to read it. I'd email andrew to see if there's something I'm supposed to do, yet I know there won't be a response. I'm going to be pissed off if I have to download my images all over again.

I'm going to post this in here because I just did in Melody's guestbook:

"I understand your point totally. However, I don't know how easy it is for the parents. I used to work at a group home with a woman named Leslie. She was thrown from her horse, permamnent brain damage. Left side totally paralized. Couldn't talk. Wheelchair bound. Her parents divorced for a while, they had such a hard time. She used to be vibrant and so active, then then bound to a wheelchair. I know she didn't like it. In fact, she hated it. My problem with this husband is that I truly question his motives. Working with people like Terri S, or worse off than Terri S, I know their quality of life isn't good at all. I question her husband totally. If it's going to happen, why let her starve to death. Or rather, die of dehydration?"

The whole thing is awful. Yesterday they said that her husband hasn't allowed any therapy to go on and she hasn't been outside in 3 years. This is why I question the husband's motives. Is he really treating her humanely?

When I worked in nursing homes or in group homes, the parents of these grown ups go through their own hell, especially Leslie's family. Her dad had the hardest time because he used to do all the rodeo stuff with her. It's not an easy thing and everyone has their own decision to make. Not everyone comes from the same family background. I have to wonder about someone willing to let her suffer in this manner. She's still living and can still feel pain. And it could be that keeping her alive is making her suffer.

I could have just said I question her husband's motive's and just been done with it. But this is the kind of subject that could be debated for hours and I like the debate.

Got this from LA

A) Recommend to me: 1. a movie: 2. a book: 3. a musical artist, song, or album:

(B) Ask me three questions, no more, no less. Ask me anything you want and I will post the answers in a new entry.

(C) Copy and paste this meme in your blog, allowing your friends to ask you anything. (The operative word here is ask. heh)


last - next

3 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge