current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

-

June 16, 2005, 7:17 PM

Like I said, a day later, the chicken's being gone hit me and I cried. One of those delayed reactions.

Then I took my agression out on my lawn. And got out the weedeater and took my agression out on a lot of other things. Then the weedeater lost its line and I stopped.

My chickens are gone. Where do raccoons go after they kill something? I typically see them climbing trees. When our old neighbor's chicken was taken by one of the masked theives, I was searching the coop area and found a small pit right next to a large evergreen where the raccoon had plucked the chicken and probably took it up the tree to eat it.

If I'm out working in my yard and dead chicken parts start falling out of tree's, I'm going to be seriously pissed off.

Raccoons are smart and they'll probably be aiming at me.

For those of you who are chronically ill, click on the link that says "Dr. Overman" to the left and then if you're so inclined, buy the book. He and a patient wrote the book and it is really very good. I found myself enraged at the disability system (which I got just a mere taste of a few years ago) and it's the first time I've really "bonded" with a fellow chronically ill person in book form.

It took a few weeks for the book to get to me, but that's ok. I kind of expected it.

I'm lucky to have landed a Rheumatologist who takes his patient's seriously.

It was funny how a nurse answered a question I had about the book. I asked how Overman and J0y came to co-write the book and her response was somewhat odd:

"Well sometimes a doctor finds a patient that he bonds with or connects with on a certain level that he doesn't with other patients...."

To which my response in my head was: "What was that about?"

It was like a mother explaining to the red-headed step child that however much she liked the step child, she just didn't have that special "connection".

Why not say "Oh she was a patient, then they became friends and then she asked him to write a book with her..."

That would be too simple.

And I'm a word-smith. I just asked a simple question and I got a long winded response that left me wondering why I had asked in the first place.

He's a good doctor and is good to his patient's.

I wish more physicians were like that. Don't we all? Because they are so well trained and go to school for a long time, I think a lot of them get the God-complex. It isn't until I started this entire process that they are just people. And in the case of chronic illnesses, it's trial and error. So I have repsect for physicians and nurses that choose that field.


last - next

2 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge