current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

-

June 21, 2005, 6:33 AM

I had nothing to write. Until now.

A man outside the Federal building was shot because he had a hand grenade.

He felt that he wasn't getting enough time with his child and that he was just throwing his money away to his ex-wife in regards to child support.

Why is it that the parent that pays child support says it's going to the ex? This is either man or woman, I'm not taking jabs at men here.

I like men.

The money does not go to the EX, it goes to the child. It may not be put in a seperate bank account JUST for the child, but it goes towards rent, electricity, food, water, transportation, school supplies, clothing and everything else that goes along with having kids. They have birthday parties and extracirricular activities. Try squeezing that out of your ex. The money that you get for child support is very basic. Kids are expensive.

Just as adults are. I have no regrets for having 4 of them. I'd have more if we could afford it.

I know my ex feels that he's giving the money to ME and it's not to me. It's for his girls and it covers the bare minimums. When we went through the divorce, the standard for this state calculation was somewhere around $800 for the two. That was just the standard calculation. He wanted to pay half that.

When I left him the first time, he was giving me maybe $50 a week. I had two in diapers and no lawyer. When I finally left, my dad said "We're getting a lawyer."

I had the best lawyer and he's hugely responsible for why I stood up to DPH.

So there you go. The baby woke up way too early.

I'm keeping a log of my pain, which may seem to focus on it, but it's actually showing patterns and making me very aware of where my pain is starting and what situations affect me the most.


last - next

12 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge