current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

2 down, 9 to keep

August 20, 2003, 5:25 PM

I'm having a sad day. To put it plainly. Spousal and I had a miscommunication about the chicken coop. I asked him if he had closed it up last night when I got home from PAWS and he said yes. What he had done was close up the gate to the chicken yard. And the coop door was open. Two chickens were taken by those darn racoons. The big fat white hen and an australorp hen.

It's such a bummer. It's so frustrating because you spend so much time trying to keep those little buggers safe and they still get got. Ya know?

So I was feeling sad and I told SwearABoo, who was sitting in the back of the car, what happened. I hear this two year old voice say:

Oh damnit!

I didn't even say damnit! Not even when I saw the chickens. I did not utter one swear word. But obviously she's been picking it up from someone and that someone is more than likely her

sisters.

Ok ok, it's me. I can't blame anyone else. But I did get a laugh out of it.

Also frustrating is the fact that Barbie goes through her high phases and thinks that the chickens need to be free. And the chicken yard isn't totally enclosed. The top has some netting on it, but it's still really easy for predators to get in.

Arg!


last - next

2 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge