current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Cat Stevens

September 22, 2004, 9:04 AM

Christ almighty.

Yusef Islam, previously known as Cat Stevens, is on the "list" as people not allowed in our country.

Nevermind that he's been a peace activist all his life.

I saw him interviewed and he was commenting on comments he had made when "Satanic Verses" came out. At the time, he was newly integrated into Islam and made comments about what the Qur'an stated about someone who spoke out against Islam.

He didn't feel that way, it was question he was asked and from what he knew, he answered.

This is what the MSN article states:

"Islam drew some negative attention in the late 1980s when he supported the Ayatollah Khomeini�s death sentence against Salman Rushdie, author of �The Satanic Verses.�

I saw that interview and that's not what he said. That's what the media took from it.

Because of comments he made 10 years ago based on questions he was asked about Islam?

If you read the Old Testament, it's no different. It is different, but you will find the same type of thing. People should be put to death, etc., etc.

I'm so friggin' irritated.

But I'm sure that this must be for our safety.

�It�s also a very sad state of affairs when a man best known as a peace loving pop star can be grouped into the same category Osama Bin Laden just because of his chosen faith."

In other news, SuperChasteOBoo is "EWWWWING" over people on TV almost kissing.

She see's this on TV, she hides.

I had such a hard time with Cath yesterday.

I should've ignored her most of the time.

She's been having problems with a boy at school and I could really tell it upset her. The trouble is I don't know how she responds to him, but that doesn't matter. I'm going to email her teacher and tell her Cath and this boy are having problems and they'll go into a mediation type situation that's set in place at school. Usually, that stops it. It did last year. But this is one of the boys she's been having problems with.

Anyway, I got really pissed off at her and told her to shut up. I did. Yes I know, I'm not parent of the year. I turned into White Trash Mama.

What set her off is the fact that I had said after their snack, the girls were to go in and clean their room.

"NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!" You would think I was going to say we're going to get shots. Anyway, she kept it up. They fight me on everything. Gia is the peace-love-happiness-girl and will stop pretty fast.

Cath won't. She calls me the worst mother in the world and she would rather live with her dad and no other kids parents make their kids do this and no other kids mothers tell their kids to shut up.

Somehow I don't buy that, but ok.

Anyway, that was our day.


last - next

0 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge