current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

McDonalds and Friday Five

August 08, 2003, 2:05 PM

My kids are driving me nuts.

And me without my duct tape.

I took the little darlings to McDonalds playland. They got their Happiest of Happy Meals and the Dippin' Dots. Which are sort of a rip off, but it's ok because they're fun little balls of ice cream.

Boo kept watching the kids and squealing with joy and running back to our table. She'd grab a couple of chicken-body-part nuggets and get down and watch more kids and squeal. Does anyone else say "Hey, before you eat that ice cream, you have to finish your dead fatty cow along with the full-of-fat bun."

Like, before you eat any more sugary fat, you have to finish the salty fat first.

The older girls took the ChickaBoo up the top of the playland and she was way to scared to come down. I climbed my way up there and she was happy to grab onto me with all her little might. I started to make my way down with her and got to the shorter slide.

ChickaBoo did not want to go down the slide. She's gripping me as I'm trying to get myself in a lying position to slide down with her. As I get my legs in and start to go down, she's screaming and grabbing onto the opening of the slide. I'm trying not to go down the slide and brace my legs inside the slide and that's hard to do with socks on. I'm grabbing one ChickaBoo arm and have that pinned down when the other ChickaBoo arm gets free and grabs onto the slide opening. I'm still trying to stop my ass from sliding down the slide because I don't want to hurt her arms and her legs are sort of wrapped around my middle and I was afraid we'd get stuck and give her owies.

Finally I get the ChickaBoo unstuck and we careen down the slide with her screaming all the way. We get to the end, but not all the way out and she's laughing and crying at the same time. She beatles out of the slide and I'm not quite all the way out. I have to pull myself out by trying to get some traction with my heels. The girls are pulling on my pant legs and finally I can get my hands around the end of the slide and pull myself out.

The slides are not made for adults.

Now the girls are pissing me off and I sent them outside before I throttle them or find packing tape and stick them to the walls

****** I sent the girls outside and Cath was SO appalled and angry at me. Gia was sitting on the front steps busying herself with something and Cath told her she was going to run away. I heard Gia say: "Take your bike, it's faster."

BTW, I'm now trying to "kill" Cath because she's been outside MAYBE 10 minutes and she's hungry (we just ate lunch) and thirsty (she just had a ton of Orange Juice) and I'm such a mean mother for making them stay outside for 15 minutes. It's maybe 77 degree's out there.

********************************

Friday Five

1. What's the last place you traveled to, outside your own home state/country?

Pendleton, Oregon

2. What's the most bizarre/unusual thing that's ever happened to you while traveling?

My kids were quiet for about 10 minutes straight.

3. If you could take off to anywhere, money and time being no object, where would you go?

I wanted to go to a resort in Hawaii that was a family resort. I saw it on the Travel Channel. They had a huge pool and I though the girls would really love that.

4. Do you prefer traveling by plane, train or car?

I like the car. During turbulence, planes make me want to scream "WE'RE ALL GONNA DIE!"

5. What's the next place on your list to visit?

Hopefully the Oregon Coast. We used to spend some Thanksgivings at Cannon Beach. We'd get a room with a Kitchen and it was great.


last - next

3 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge