current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Breathing is good

June 20, 2003, 8:26 PM

Uh yeah.

About 10 years ago I went to the doctor and told him I was having trouble getting enough air. I said I had a tightness in my chest but I wasn't wheezing.

He told me I was hyperventilating. Ok.

So for 11 years now I've been hyperventilating. Because I'm a female and am having a case of the vapors.

Yesterday, on a whim, I took a puff of Cath's inhaler and felt some relief.

Today, five minutes before I ran, I took a puff. Then I walked up the hill faster than I ever have and ran around the track twice without stopping and ran off the track and down the sidewalk and into the neighborhood and all the way home. And I was not gasping or coughing like I have been doing. My legs felt really good and not so weak. And while I was running I could inhale for 4 steps and then exhale for the next 4 steps. Make sense? It does to me anyway. I can't believe I just did that. I can't believe that I feel like I have enough air.

I just want to cry, but I'll spare the dogs. To go so long without breathing well and just assume that I'm hyperventilating when it could be that it's something else. Wierdness.

Desi the dog with the stubby little legs ran with me. I think she's a little sorry she did because she really had to poop and I was running and pretty soon I stopped really jerkily because she stopped and would not budge because she was pooping and really wanted to stop while she was doing it.


last - next

4 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge