current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Aiiiieeeeeeeeee

October 07, 2003, 11:46 AM

Shit.

Well, at least I tried right?

I haven't been in the workforce in a year and haven't interviewed in two years.

I SUCKED!

That's how I feel about it. It doesn't help when the panel of three that are interviewing me along with an HR person that is obviously just there to STUDY me are poker faces.

No smiling.

Only when I made a joke when asked if I was able to handle stressful calls and I said that no one wants to call the health insurance company (my previous job, customer service).

I know that police dispatch and insurance are quite a lot different, but I am accustomed to people swearing into the phone.

So anyway, back to the questions they asked.

Why do you want to be a dispatcher.

Simple.

Easy.

And I had severe mental pause. I was like "Uh, I don't know." NO I didn't say that but what a simple question.

Where do you see yourself in the future?

UH, gee.

I mean c'mon BETTY. Crap. So then as they asked more questions, the easier it got.

At times, there is mandatory overtime. You could have 2 hours left in your shift and your supervisor could approach you and tell you that you have to work the next shift. Is there any reason you would not be able to fulfill this requirement.

No.

Then they asked scenario questions.

If there's a boy calling and he sounds like he's about 5 saying he's scared, how do you gain his trust. Or something close to that.

So I listed off all I would do. I don't know if I answered that the way it was supposed to be answered. But I said that I would ask his name, how old he was, why was he scared, where were his mommy and daddy, etc.

I don't know.

I still think

Betty SUCKED

But it was good experience right?


last - next

3 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge