current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Another day bites the dust.

December 14, 2004, 4:31 PM

Yeah I do it to myself. Totally.

I asked SIL to watch BoozerBee so that I could help out in Cath's class. They're doing some way cool stuff this week. Some dude is here from Vancouver, BC and I'm not sure his background, but he's teaching the kids customs of Native Americans, not just about them in general, they're doing projects and having stuff going on all week. This guy has pelts hanging up with stories about what tribes used what, did what, etc. My mom made some remark about it being politically correct, but we learned this stuff in school. This dude seems to go pretty in depth about manners and customs even.

So I was helping out at school and got a message on my cell that SIL wanted to "POP on down to Tully's" to meet with the woman and she said it was going to be a half an hour long meeting.

So here's me. I expect people to do what they say they're going to do. Do your half hour thing and come back. 2 hours later, she's still not back and I called her. She said "Oh sorry! I just got to chatting here..."

So it is my fault. I didn't set a time limit and will be doing that from now on. REALLY, I can't and shouldn't be watching Zach at this time anyway. I cannot get him down from the fridge or anywhere else he happens to climb up and if I go near him to ask him to get down, he'd jump. On me.

SIL gets to talking so much that even though she is a thoughtful person, she's not right now. Before she had gotten ahold of me today, she had called and asked my mom to be a back-up in case I didn't get her message. My mom has a huge bunko party she's throwing tonight. 18 women are coming and it's a Christmas party. I haven't asked my mom to babysit in a week because I know she's preparing for this. My best way to help her is to stay away! Mom loves the kids, but kids add stress. So I can't really believe my SIL asked her, knowing she has a ton of shit to do. 18 women to cook for. I told my mom she was damn lucky she didn't get caught up in this today. I'm actually a little surprised mom didn't say she couldn't at all.

The deal is we all want to help out because Zachary has a lot of appointments and a lot of therapy. But right now SIL is so caught up in this whole thing that she's not giving a lot of thought to anything but this. I don't know if there's a balance or what that would even be at this point. I'm just mad that I didn't set a time limit.

This happened on Gia's Bday. My parents were supposed to be watching the kids all day and then I get a call from brother and I totally misunderstood what he'd meant. I thought I was just going to be there a half hour, but turns out my parents had taken off and I ended up being there 2-3 hours when I still had stuff to do. Basically everything takes a backseat to something to do with Zach's appointments. So much so that nothing gets taken into consideration. SIL talks non-stop and it's worse when she's stressed out. So in that respect, she doesn't give thought to others.

This is a critical time for him to learn and get this stuff, but I just am physically unable to watch him right now. So I have to type it out to make it real. I don't have a problem saying no, I have a problem recognizing my limits. With Chronic fatigue and fibro, and then being preggo puff, there's just stuff I can't do like I used to.

So blah blah blah.


last - next

0 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge