current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Chicken

May 07, 2003, 2:58 AM

I know nothing about chickens.

Aside from what temperature to cook them at.

(That was a while ago)

Why is it, then, that I have a Wyandot chick in my laundry room?

Well, it had trouble pooping. And it was getting picked on by the other chicks.

Kids.

Barbie wanted to know if I knew anyone who'd want a chick and I heard myself say "Well, actually, we thought about getting a few..." not really thinking about the entirety of the situation. I mean, they get bigger. And bigger. And you have to put them outside. And you have to build a house for them. And make sure the racoons don't get them. Or coyotes. Or cats or dogs.

I have added one baby chick to our family and suddenly I feel the weight of responsibility.

Ah well, we have a bunch of wood that could be used to make a chicken coop.

I'll just be worried about it, out there in the cold. It's chirping right now. How cute.

Probably won't be cute in a few weeks.


last - next

2 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge