current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

letter for D

May 12, 2004, 10:10 PM

My friend D is a single mom now with two kids. Her dope of an ex has Rich-Kid-Mama-Boy's syndrome. 31 fucking years old and living with his mommy who does his laundry and makes his meals.

Meanwhile, back at the ranch, D is living a real life. Working and supporting her 2 and 4 year old. If the kids get sick, SHE IS the back up plan. She has to stay home because daycare just doesn't take sick kids.

So she gets to work this past Monday and her boss tells her if she misses one more day in 6 months she's fired. Boss has this bullshit story that she got this stat from HR about working single mothers and basically she shouldn't have this problem.

So gosh. Dana asked me to help her draft a letter to HR. And the main point of this letter is discrimination. More to the story. This other fellow favorite employee chick gets to browse the internet, study at work and leave early and get time off when she wants and basically not do her job. If D did that, she'd have some huge consequences.

It was too wierd how D didn't even have to open her mouth and her manager is blowing smoke about the single working mom stat.

BTW, D is the shit. She's a good worker. Has a work ethic. A strong one. I've worked with her before. Not lazy. Hates loose ends. Knows her shit. The only thing is right now is daycare issues.

So at the bottom you can read the letter. It's so long and it was very theraputic. She'll take out what she wants and all that shit. Feel so free to skip it because it's...long.

To Whom It May Concern:

Recent events involving myself and problems I have witnessed in my department have prompted me to write this letter about my concerns. I feel very strongly I�m being discriminated against as a single mother of two children whereas other people in my department are not being held up to the same "standards" that I am.

I have worked for C�s Hospital for almost three years without any incident. I have always been a very strong employee and in fact I have two letters of recommendation written by two physicians in the plastic surgery department. Aside from medical issues regarding my children and myself, attendance has not been a problem.

In the past few months my children and I have dealt with illness several times. My children are in daycare and as children in any daycare, they get sick often. I am their sole provider. When they are ill, they are not allowed at daycare. The only back up I have when they�re sick is to stay home. I have no daycare provider when they�re ill and I have no support from my former spouse.

I have missed 4 days in the past 6 weeks that I have had to deal with illness with my children and myself. I believe 3 of those can be verified with a physician�s note. When I returned to work Monday, May 10th, my supervisor informed me that I would be fired if I missed one more day of work in the next 6 months. She also threw a statistic at me about how working mothers are 3% of the work force and basically that I shouldn�t be having this problem with illness and daycare. My supervisor stated she had spoken to HR about this very incident and received this statistic. I was told very clearly it was not due to my performance, it was due to days missed.

I understand that C�s has an attendance policy. I also understand that I cannot be discriminated against as a single mother. It�s interesting to me that a part time employee in my department can use the internet, get days off at the last minute so she can study, leave early for her birthday when I wasn�t allowed to, study during times she should be working and basically not work unless the supervisor is around. The supervisor has been told of this activity and chooses to turn her head. I work very hard and am very well liked by my fellow employees. If I did any of the things listed that my fellow employee did, there would be dire consequences for sure.

I don�t know anything about that statistic my supervisor "received from HR", but every situation is different. When my children, ages 2 1/2 and 4, are sick, I have to stay home with them. It is not an option. For whatever reason, we have been hit with a bout of sickness more in the past few months than any other time.

Right now I am trying to fix the issue of illness and daycare so that I do not miss work, but what do I do if I�m extremely ill? To not get fired, I have to come to work ill. Of course I�m very worried. A previous mother in this department who I�m told I replaced, was fired under very similar circumstances.

I need to work for my children and myself to survive. I have been a very good employee for C�s and am surprised that this particular supervisor has no compassion. She is very clearly showing her dislike for me as a working mother, somehow inferring that I�m using the children�s illness as an excuse. I have a strong work ethic and have no excuses. What has happened is just fact.

I feel that my supervisor is showing discrimination by even bringing up the subject of the working mother�s statistic. I�m even more surprised this was a subject that she went to HR to discuss and then to speak to me about. What this is telling me is that C�s Hospital will not look at individual circumstances surrounding their employees. I have been a good and loyal employee and C�s is not showing that loyalty in return.

I would like to make an appointment with HR to discuss my options at this time. I want to see if FMLA is an option for me and receive any information I can about Labor Laws, etc. I can be reached at _ _ _

Did you make it this far? It's just a draft people, she'll change what she wants.


last - next

0 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge