current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Dyed in the wool *Democrats

May 12, 2005, 6:09 AM

WOOOHOOOO!

I won my *GaiamBalanceBall!

See, what happened was I was rolling around on my other one, which did have a big gouge in it for two weeks. I blame the cats for doing it. So for two weeks I was confidently rolling around on this balance*ball. Surely it wouldn't pop. It saves my back if I lay on it.

So I was rolling up to the Benzer while he was in his bouncy seat. "Hi BEN!"

Cath recalls the following events, laughing her little 11 year old rear off:

(I hear a hissing sound, then *POP*. Ben's eyes get huge and his hair blows back.)

"Mom! Are you ok? (laughing really hard). OK, THAT was funny. I was watching you and you were up on the ball and looking like superman, then in a split second, you dropped FLAT. (still laughing hysterically).


I can still see Ben's little eyes become wide as his hair blows back as my indestructable ball destructs with me on it.

I loved that thing. It was a permanant fixture in my living room while I was pregnant. If you have back problems for any reason (mine would be from scoliosis), rolling back on this ball really opens up your back.

Now onto this game:


Note the French ship on the right hand side stuck in between the Brits

The girls love this game. I'm just not a game player. I might be talked into playing this at some point in time. If I've had a lot to drink.

Ben and I are the only one's up right now. He's lying across my lap, playing with my sleeve.

So what to do. Cath's teacher is democrat and constantly talks about how much she hates Bush and what a bad man he is.

Catherine said: "I don't like Bush either, but I don't think it's right that she constantly talks about him in class. We should make up our own minds."

That's from an 11 year old. Do kids constantly surprise you, because they sure shock the hell out of me at times. Cath and Gia are totally dyed*in*the*wool*democrats, which is great. I make a point to not talk politics in front of them and didn't tell them who I voted for so they could discuss it amongst themselves and make up their own minds. I'm not always that way about stuff. I just have a republican mom who CONSTANTLY makes comments about "the other side" and I refuse to discuss politics with her. I want to avoid that with my kids. I want them to talk to me. That's all this stems from. They even comment on my mom's politics.


My dad is great. During the entire election time, my mom kept saying "Who did you vote for?" and my dad kept kicking her. Apparently they had a discussion and dad told her not to ask us. I thought that was totally cool.

Anyway, I think I'm going to talk to the principal about this because Cath and her teacher are sort of at odds right now. I don't want any sort of retaliation even if she doesn't mean to do it.


last - next

12 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge