current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

DUH-SEASES

November 27, 2003, 11:01 PM

So I think I raised a sociopath.

Cath is 10. She's got a mouth on her. We came from a pretty nice thanksgiving at in laws and were on the way home. Cath was doing everything in her power to create a boredomless state while we waited for Yon Merry Ferry Boat. Which includes, but is not limited to, behaviors of an obnoxious nature. Cath was warned quite a few times that she needed to quit mouthing off, calling us mean, etc.

Since she refused to listen, I warned her that if I had to tell her again to quit calling people mean, etc, she would not be going to Build-a-bear to get what she wanted to get her bear.

She refused to listen again. I'll be damned if my kids are going to be rewarded for crappy behavior. I told her we would not be going to Build-A-Bear for this Christmas thing she wanted to get her bear.

Basically I was told how mean I was.

Oh but that's not all.

I got not 1, but 2 I hate you's and the kicker was she hated me because of my:

"DUH-SEASE"

It doesn't exist. Yeah I know. But that hurt the heart in a big way. She said "DUH-SEASE" in a mocking way.

I told her not to say a thing on the way home and she didn't. I know she knows that wasn't the thing to say, however she acted as if it was no big deal. If she thought I was looking at her, she rolled her eyes and so on. I ignored.

So onto thinking about things. What I need to do.

I don't know at this point. I told her to shut up after she said it.

Better than what I wanted to say. And I'm fucking human for christsakes. No parent is perfect. I'm not. I told her to shut up and not say a word on the way home.

And I ignored. I'm sure there's quite a few opinions out there as to what I should've done, could've done. But at the time, that's what I did.

Because I was a little thrown by that.

Yeah, big bad parent. Mean. I'm not taking her to where she wants to go because she wouldn't stop with the rudeness to everyone in the car. Yeah, she needs counseling. But that requires money. And that adds up fast. Hell, I need counseling. I dunno. I'm just thrown. I don't know what to do.

I know I want to smoke. I asked spousal to stop at the store, and then cancelled my order at the last second. Just not worth it right now. Probably not ever worth it. But right now. I need to find a better way to deal with it.


last - next

3 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge