current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Another friend bites the dust

February 01, 2004, 3:19 AM

I didn't know the term "Chronic Fatigue Syndrome" was coined

"by a small group of politically motivated and/or poorly informed scientists and doctors who were vastly more concerned about costs to insurance companies and the Social Security Administration than about public health. Their deliberate intention - based on the correspondence they exchanged over a period of months - was to obfuscate the nature of the disease by placing it in the realm of the psychiatric rather than organic. The harm they have caused is surely one of the greatest tragedies in the history of medicine."

Just makes me mad. From now on I'm labeling myself as someon with M.E. or myalgic encephalopathy. Just in the diary. No one around me would know what the hell I was talking about.

Which brings me to the people around me. Someone was actually honest and said they purposely weren't contacting me because they hated to see me going through this, see what it was doing to me. First time someone has ever been honest with that. Well, another one bites the dust. At least I don't have to guess at the reason.

Oh oh oh! Another great quote!

"It's always been said that this is an illness of exclusion, that everything else must be ruled out before the diagnosis of chronic fatigue syndrome can be made. That is not true. The pattern of symptoms is unique; there is no other illness in general medical practice that looks like this one." - David Bell, M.D.

Yeah I'm focusing, but only because the past few days have been misery of sorts. No, I'm not dying. But if I can guess, this is what it would feel like.


last - next

8 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge