current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Gia and the Bad Friend

March 15, 2005, 6:38 AM

I don't know about you, but I think the woman who was the hostage of that Nichols guy is pretty amazing. They wonder why he didn't go out in a blaze of glory and she's probably why.

Yesterday when waking up the girls, I saw a list on Gia's bed that said:

"What a bad friend is."

I didn't read the list but asked her about it later. These were legitimate character issues Gia had.

Apparently when Gia was spending the night at El's, El shut a door in her little brother's face and he fell down and was crying. El apparently laughed and Gia said it made her sick. She said she didn't want to be a loser so she didn't say anything. I told her that was the exact time to say something. I told her I guaranteed if she had bent down and helped the brother and then got after El for her behavior, El wouldn't do it again. This is hard stuff for kids. To know what to do in these situations.

The other thing was that El had called her mom a bitch. Gia said "Ok, if I called you that, you would INJURE me, ok?" She was being fecitious when she said it, but she didn't like the fact that El said that about her mom.

The thing I liked about this list was that they are character issues Gia has, not "she took my crackers at lunch" kind of stuff. Gia also went on to say that she felt El was doing this just to "be cool" in front of her and that also bothered her.

Since Gia said it was ok for me to read it, I'm going to put in on here verbatim.

What a Bad Friend Is

I have a friend named El. She's not really a good friend. When I was at her house to go swimming we had to go in the morning because her dad got home really late. I was waiting in her room and then she came in really mad. Then she came in on the top bunk where I was on and then she called her mom a b-i-t-c-h. I don't really want to say it so I just spelled it out for you. Then I was really surprised because she just started crying. I was really shocked because I thought her mom should be the one crying. I'm really thinking I should just go up to her and say that what she said was just PLAIN ROOD. (next page)

but I'm sort of scared because I think I have the guts to do it, you really don't. Because when you go up to them and look them straight in the eye then that's the part when you get really really really nervious. Well tomorrow I hope I'll tell her. Wish me luck. [last page].

By Angela E_ _ _ _
Grade: 4
Teacher. S_ _ P_ _ _ _

I'm glad this bothered her that much. Where do kids learn it? Obviously I try to get them to have respect for other people and teach them to treat others how they would be treated, but how much of it is me harping on them and how much is just part of their make-up?

I have to go. His Royal Shortness is calling.


Got*Foofy?

Wait, where's *Foofy??? I got a link to this link from Suzanne who is no longer diary-ing.

I just ran across a *Brigitte Neilsen photo thing with her nude and pregnant. I feel dirty.

HOLD ON! She procreated???


last - next

12 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge