current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

You Go Girlfriend!

May 06, 2005, 7:22 PM

Lana, those people that call you a tool for loving the Dr.Phil? Tell them to stuff it! I hate it when people bag on other people. I think the true purpose of bagging on someone else is really to make yourself high and mighty. That shit is old.

I don't care if it's TV. If you listen to someone like that and you get just ONE thing out of it, then it's totally worth it to listen to.

Sort of an aside here: I don't watch *Oprah because I'm just not into it. I think a lot of people watch the show and then don't do anything to change their lives. They're sort of living through the starstruck "*Oprah is so cool!" thing. It's hard to explain. I saw about 10 minutes of her aftershow show on *Oxygen and all people wanted was to have their picture taken with her.

Now *Dr.Phil, when I watch him I feel like I'm at the therapist's office. People are probably more than likely watching to get the information to make their lives better. I could be wrong. I watch Dr.Phil really sporadically, but have read a lot of his articles and find him to be really good and straightforward. That's how I see him. Maybe he really is entertainment, but you're hardly a "tool" for liking his style and more than likely you see yourself in some of the people he's interviewing. I know I do. In the articles I read, he's really good about getting to the guts of the matter and cutting the bullshit. It could be that the "No B.S." thing is really upped for the television viewer, sometimes that stuff is. But the dude has a gift for really getting right to it.

I have a friend that way. Mr. Law enforcement is extremely good at saying "Now what's really going on, Betty?" Some of that is his profession, some of it is just the way he is. He has a gift for getting information out of you before you really realize what he's doing.

Let's face it, if Dr. Phil didn't have something on the ball, he wouldn't have gotten to where he is. I think because he's on TV and the masses watch, then other people feel like sheep because geez, if millions of people watch him, I don't want to be viewed like everyone else.

So you watch Dr.Phil Alanajar! Watch it with pride! Tell everyone else they can go feel uppity and smug somewhere else because YOU are going to watch Dr.Phil and you're going to like it.

I like him. I also like NEIL DIAMOND! He was on the *Today Show and he was good. And the masses love him. And so do I. Am I a sheep person? Who cares.

I like what I like.


last - next

10 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge