current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Reminicsing about Herbert, the dead Turkey

November 22, 2004, 10:17 PM

I can't believe Thanksgiving is already here. I only realized this when I read MissLeigh's entry about "Turkey Day". Which reminded me of my TURKEY DAY entry a couple of years back. PETA had their snappy little come-backs for people who make snide remarks about others being vegan/vegetarian.

I never tell people how they should eat or go weird or judgemental on them, but the comments I get are really pretty rude sometimes. I told my mom I was going to go vegetarian and she was all cool with it. I was like "Huh?"

Turns out, she wasn't really listening. It took a few times mentioning it for it to really sink in. "You mean you're not eating meat or fish?? Ever???"

Then the lovely holiday dinners roll around and it has to be a topic of conversation. I'm totally fine with bringing my own stuff to eat and do, but if we've talked earlier and it seems that she'll be providing it or whatever and then forgets for some reason, she feels bad, then tries to make me feel bad for not eating what she's cooked.

SIL is totally supportive. She said you'd think mom would be happy I was making the diet change since heart attacks run rampant on my dad's side. The second she heard about me going vegetarian, she found out what I liked and always has a vegan something or other in the freezer for me. Which is way cool of her. During the pregnancy I haven't been totally vegan and don't know if I will be or not. I can be most of the time, but fall off the wagon, so to speak. Like eating dairy.

When you don't eat meat for a while, you lose the enzymes that you used to have to digest meat products. It would make me ill if I tried to eat it. And when you don't eat meat for a while, when you see or smell it cooking, it's pretty gross. It has a dead smell to it. It took me a while to get there though. When you eat animal stuff for 30 years, when you stop, it's hard. The rest of the family didn't eat that way, but I've been able to incorporate a lot of veg-meats into their diet and they like it.

Then the older girl's dad says that eating vegetarian isn't good for them and they could get really sick from not eating meat.

I know he's not the only one who feels that way. But do a little research and then we'll talk.

So yeah, I'm in search of something different than T*furkey. Last year I seem to recall they made it look better than it used to. It really resembled a dead armadillo and that didn't appeal.

My sister in law said there was another brand that was really good, but searching around, we don't get it here. Tr@der Joe's used to carry it, but didn't last year.

Well, if you're interested, I did find a "turkey" recipe. Veg-Turkey Recipe. Looks like it might turn out to resemble a dead armadillo though.

This recipe looks good to me.

Oh wow, I found this in my recipe travels. Adopt-A-Turkey.org. You can either adopt a turkey outright to live with you OR for a one-time $20 adoption fee, you receive a color photograph of your turkey, an adoption certificate and a year's subscription to Farm Sanctuary's quarterly newsletter. Dudes. Those are some lucky turkey's.

Adopt-A-Turkey.org.

A little disturbing while watching Marg@ret Cho Revolution and her talking about how in Bangkok they try to get you in a live show by telling you what it's about, like "Pussy Eat Banana" and have your spouse say

"I've seen that show."


last - next

0 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge