current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Meeting

September 30, 2003, 4:50 PM

Last night I had to go potty. Really bad. I was hobbling to the bathroom, doing the potty dance. I got in there and had my legs crossed as I was undoing my pants to get them down as fast as I could so I didn't wet myself.

I lift the lid to find that the seat is covered in minty fresh toothpaste. The perpatrator: WarholaBoo, no doubt.

I'm praying to the almighty Lord, "Please please please, no pee, no pee no pee." As I try and clean it up with my pants around my knees and crosslegged standing up.

That Boo.

Tomorrow I go in for some sort of skills test for police dispatcher. I have no idea what it is, just that it's computer generated.

Funny, I was talking to a girl at PAWS, well she's 29. She was asking about my background because I mentioned the police dispatcher thing. She was asking if I had finished school, college. No.

Oh well, then are you trained to do this sort of thing.

No, not really. She seemed shocked that I didn't finish college and shocked at the fact that I could hold down a job without a college degree. I don't know what that was about. She's got a degree and has been out of work for at least a year. She had a part time gig at PAWS on the weekends, which just ended because it's seasonal. These days, a degree at times doesn't seem to matter. Pay-wise, it can matter a lot. Anyway, I wasn't sure what she was questioning about. Some people just aren't college types. I'm not now.

Maybe someday. I've gotten over feeling I have to do it. In certain circles, it seems important to people if you have it or not. We went to a Unitarian church a year or so ago..over a year. I remember the pastor making a comment in a sermon that Untitarians were typically collge graduates.

Ok. That's ok. But there was a thing there. Superiority.

And then there's paganism and wicca. I've been to quite a few classes and so on and so forth. I've met the most open minded, tolerant and kind people that way.

I've come to realize that even though I fully grasp what the god/goddess mean in Wicca and paganism, I still have this strong need for

G O D

Oh jeez, Betty gets into religion.

Past 3 weeks I've been going to a Quaker meeting and wow. It's like Unitarians that actually TALK about

G O D

Although they don't talk about

G O D

You sit in silence in meeting for worship. For an hour. There's no pastor. You sit and wait for something to come to you. A message from

G O D

Or something like that. We all know that we don't hear

G O D

talking right at us. I sat in meeting and wondered what in the heck I was going to think about, but it came to me. All the shitty stuff I had done the past week and how I could do better. It was easy. That's something I need. Total silence. I can do it anywhere, but I don't. I have to have the radio on. I have to switch the stations every two seconds. I have to have noise all the time. I hear the freeway in the background at all times.

So even though the meeting house is right in the middle of a busy area, downtown U district, you're able to drown it out.

Sometimes people speak. The point is, in meeting your only supposed to speak if it's going to be for the good of the meeting. If it's going to benefit everyone, for you to speak. But if your standing to speak and it's all ego, it's not right.

So I like it.

No eternal damnation. Basically, the truth will set you free. So I'm working on it.


last - next

5 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge