current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Methad*one

January 19, 2004, 9:25 PM

Ok, so please don't all go freakin' out like Spousal did. My doctor took me off of hydrocodo*ne and put me on methad*one to control the pain. I'm sure a lot of you naturalists are cringing, but fuck if I will live with the pain like it has been. I found a site where patients Rated Methado*ne for pain. That was really helpful. I think people think of heroi*n addicts when methadone is mentioned. But it's a narcotic, just like hydrocod*one. And it controls the pain. I know another woman with fibromyalgia who's had good sucess with it as well.

IT does seem scary that people are on methadon*e as well as other pain meds, like percoce*t. Tomorrow I see a resident therapist at NW. He's going into the field of counseling people living with chronic pain. My Rheumotologist is also getting a naturopath in his office. He told me to seek out a good acupunturist. And to do Tai Chi. And meditate, but I already do that. I'm hoping if that works, then I will be off pain pills. My mom had no pain relief with acupunture, but she has something different.

Anyway. I asked spousal to pick up the prescription and when he came back, he walked through the door and said "whoa! I didn't know you were in that much pain."

What?

"Methado*ne!"

Oh that.

"Honey, that's what they use to treat heroi-"

Oh yeah, I know that

"It's really addictive."

I always take it as it's prescribed. I do not like the feeling it gives me, I just like that it eases some pain.


last - next

8 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge