current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Methotrexate

May 19, 2005, 10:17 AM

Aw shit.

I went to my appointment with the Rheumatologist yesterday. He was telling me the next step for medications was a different drug. He said I had to come in 2 weeks to have training with the nurse. I couldn't figure it out as my mom takes the same med. They just prescribed it to her. Then I realized this morning on an internet search that this drug is also an injectable.

Lightbulb.

Mom had to have "training" for injecting en*brel twice a week. Because my mom takes this other drug in pill form it didn't occur to me it would be an injectable.

My doctor has a sheet that he writes down all we've disucussed for treatment (if I can read his writing) and he had a list of drugs that a patient needs training on. En*brel, methotrexate (mine) and some others.

It won't be so bad, just that my hair might fall out because it's also a cancer drug.

That also won't be so bad because then my hair will be oh so much easier in the morning.

Because I won't have any.

But that may not happen. My mom's hair is just thinning. That really bothers her.

And it would a lot of people. I wouldn't want mine to be thin.

It's all or nothing baby!

I guess if this doesn't do the trick, they might go with something like en*brel.

People keep telling me I should go the naturopathic route. That's great, but it's expensive and my insurance doesn't cover it. Now if I had Pre*mera Blue Cr*ss, the company I used to work for, they treat naturopathic doctor's like any other doctor. It's just a $10 copay for any "alternative" provider: naturopath, massage therapist, chiro, acupuncturist, etc. That was great. I heard WA state was the best in regards to recognizing alternative medicine, but I don't know if that's true or not.

So blah blah blah.

My period has now officially started and I'm now officially weak feeling.

I'm going to go put in the KEEPER and see if I can get it positioned in there right. Maybe I'm not doing it right. But I think I am. I follow the directions. But I followed the directions on the SPONGE too and that's how Ben happened.

And I'm so glad he did.

BTW, my friend is going on This Tour of Norway. She is SO lucky.


last - next

10 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge