current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Mt. St. Me

September 30, 2004, 12:15 PM

Lee and BooMerang went to run and errand. I stayed behind to clean spots out of the rug.

It looks better. I feel like shit.

I have a raw throat. Lee ran out and got a V*icks V*apo humidifier (I still have a tendancy to call them "vaporizers") and that was awesome.

Dana is coming over with the kids to watch the debate. A says no to cable TV and we should too. And we did for two years.

Anyway, he told her they could listen to it on the radio, but she wants to catch all the body language.

Hey, Mount St. Helens primed to erupt.

I would never have imagined it would do it again. I thought one blow and it was all over from there. I remember a lot about the eruption. A week after my mom and I drove to Portland and driving through the area you could see where the mudslides had gone through. Marks on the still standing trees as to how high the water had gotten in an area where there shouldn't be water. Piles of ash from where they plowed it from the rode. Ash is a difficult thing to clean. Try to clean it off your car is like sandblasting the paint.

When we arrived at my aunts house, I remember the ash that dusted their back deck area.

Mt. St Helens is a beautiful area, but before it was amazingly beautiful. A lot of great and horrible stories where people were outside the red zone and were trapped by a river of logs and were able to ride the river to a safer ground. Or the old man that refused to leave the redzone and is somewhere up there buried with his house and cats.

Ronald Reagan being president, Princess Diana getting married and Mt. St Helens blowing within the same time period in my life, all around the third grade, and I remember it like it was yesterday.

And I can't remember what I did this morning.

Oh yeah, we went to Caffe Ladro. I had a double tall medici, Lee had a chai that was a little too herbaly, but the pastries made up for it. They were great. Ok, so I had my double tall, Lee had a grande, and then I had a pecan roll, Boo got a big cookie and Lee got a coffee cake. $11. And it was good. $11 is really a great price around here.


last - next

0 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge