current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Lee Gave Notice

February 06, 2005, 5:21 PM

Lee Gave Notice.

I wonder more often than not why we put up with shitty working condtitions and I think it's because we feel stuck. Or maybe we get used to it.

I'll try to keep this part short. My brother works for a company who treats their employees well. The two head boss's were retiring and everyone got up to tell stories about them. One man stood up and said that he and another guy had taken a really long lunch and came back to find their boss at the job site. They thought "OH man, we're going to get it now" fully expecting the boss to lay into them for taking advantage of the fact he hadn't been there.

He didn't. He turned to them and said "How are we going to earn any money this way, boys?" and turned back to what he was doing. The man telling the story said they never did it again. There were quite a few stories that were told of how they fully expected to be lit into when they fucked up or made a mistake and they were treated with respect. They weren't talked down to. They weren't chewed out or yelled at. They're told when they do a good job.

So today Lee gave his notice at work and the end of February, he'll go work for this company. He may not stay there for long and it could be they don't keep him for long. But my hope is that Lee see's how human's are treated and that the employee is someone that is to be treated well. The company wants to make money but realizes that if you treat the employee well and handle their mistakes and fuck-ups well, they're going to keep working hard for you. You'll inspire loyalty too.

No matter how much I bitched on here, I absolutely did not push Lee to give notice at GW or take this job. If I had done that and it ends up he hates it, he'd probably resent me for pushing him, which is why I didn't push. He has been looking for a while and hasn't found anything. But only recently has the actual job market been good around here. So I'm happy for Lee. He can go back to his hobby and know what's work and what's not. He won't have people calling him at night and on his day off and try to get ahold of him on his vacation. He might just be the happy guy we used to know.

I have officially dried up. The meds did not work. But I did give it my all and I'm still sad about it. Currently making 3 batches of spaghetti sauce for my mom to freeze. My dad's feeding Baby Ben Kenobi. Boo's watching Little Mermaid and eating a meatball. George Dickel sounds like an awfully good idea right now.


last - next

0 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge