current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Pikachu

September 17, 2004, 10:37 PM

So my SIL and brother are leaving tomorrow and SIL is just a basket case. Her mom is coming to stay with the kids. My dad is taking Zach to school and I'm picking him up every day. Then I'll help her mom out during the day and then my parents are supposed to be doing stuff at night to help her out.

This will come out as a criticism and it does start out that way. I start out feeling that way and I just have to remind myself that SIL has led a somewhat sheltered life.

She is manic right now. Her kids cry and she cries because she just hates seeing them cry.

Barf, ok?

I'm mean, she's not truly manic, but she's leaving tomorrow and hasn't even packed and I show up to babysit for a while this afternoon and she's mowing the lawn like a crazed maniac.

The kids cry when she leaves and she just out and out bawls because she feels so guilty.

We had her B day dinner tonight and they show up 45 minutes late and my mom had everything ready when she said she'd have it ready.

Me: What the heck can they be doing?

Mom: She's probably painting the house right now.

Brother says the prayer at the dinner table and SIL's bawling again.

I'm sorry, it gets old. Yes, I'd have a hard time leaving my kids and I do when it's just the weekend and I hate it that they go to their dad's house for the weekend, but it's life. You have to harden up sometimes.

I doubt she'll even enjoy herself because she'll be bawling half the time while she's gone. I don't know what Todd thinks of this. He just looks at her perplexed and coming from the same mom, I know he doesn't quite understand it either.

Our kids cry. That doesn't mean we too have to cry because we feel bad that they're crying.

I get some of this. If they're getting their shots, I find that I've totally pitted out by the end of the shot session. Even with Cath, age 10, I was sweating it. So I can understand not wanting your kids to have pain and all that but hey.

They're leaving to do the S0n-Rise program and it's a training to basically train your autistic child. I know SIL has really high hopes for this, that this will be what they need to reach Zach. They very well may, but I don't know that they're prepared if it doesn't turn out that way. I mean, I would imagine that most normal parents want their kids to have a normal childhood and when it doesn't happen, there's a lot of conflict that goes along with it.

This sounds stupid, but I was wondering if I had a boy, because my brother's boy has autism, is there a high chance my boy will too? If it happens, then it does, but I was having that worry one day. In this area there's like a 150% increase in autism in the past 10 years I think. So there's always a chance of something.

BooBooBee loves Pikachu.


last - next

0 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge