current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Rape

October 10, 2003, 6:01 AM

You want to get my ire up, talk about rape victims.

I'm sitting at my parents watching

FOX NEWS

and there's a defense lawyer on totally smearing Kobe Bryants alleged victim.

Now, I don't pay attention to the news much and I don't have an opinion on whether or not he's guilty. We just don't know.

But I feel enraged when a woman decides she's going to go after someone for rape and the defense tries to paint the person as a slut. It's wrong. If there's information out there that's credible, it should be brought forth. No doubt about it. But defense lawyers are a bunch I have little respect for. I see them as a pack of wolves just waiting to move in for the kill.

Sure, my mom says that women are stupid and put themselves into situations that are risky.

That's an excuse. Rape should not happen, period. It does. But I don't care what kind of situation a woman puts herself into, what the hell would cause a man to abuse a woman in that way when the woman doesn't want it? I know it's a power thing. I know this, but it's vile.

Anytime rape happens, people automatically say the woman must have been stupid and put herself in a bad situation. Fuck. Again, we go with how we're raised. Or how I was raised. Be polite. Don't hurt feelings. Go with the flow. Don't stand up for yourself. Don't make waves.

He's rich so she's just trying to bilk money out of him.

I highly doubt that.

I know it could happen. I know that there's no way I would ever want to put myself out there to get blasted like that if I didn't have good reason.

With someone famous? Jesus. I can't imagine. I'm such a private person. Can you imagine having the press all over you?

I know, Kobe Bryant is guilty before proven innocent. But I guess I'm not thinking too much about him.

I'm trying not to judge, period. It's not up to me.

Rape happens. And there's no excuse. No reason a woman, whatever the situation she puts herself in, should be raped.

Like she asked for it.


last - next

6 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge