current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Rheumatologist

December 05, 2003, 11:07 AM

Ack. I'm having a hard day. The girls are great. Boo is a little bit of a Bossy girl and that's getting on my nerves. I have to remind her that I am the mommy.

The kittens are doing good and learning how to fight each other. Troy has patches of fir off his face and Terri with an i (she's for sure a girl) is the big bad adventure kitty.

Hey, actually went to the Rheumatologist appointment. It was night and day compared to my last Rheumatologist appointment. He spent probably 45 minutes with me, put me on two other meds, one is a seizure med and the other is an anti-inflammatory I've taken before for my knee. Next time he'll put me on one that my mom actually takes for Rheumatoid Arthritis called Plaquenil. Right now I don't mind taking the pills. I figure if I take the 2 or 3 eventually I won't have the need for the pain medication or the muscle relaxer.

He told me to read the book called The Omega Diet and should be doable even with the vegetarian thing.

He also said it was a good idea to get into a swimming program, which to me sounds like fun. I'm sorta over hating getting into a swim suit.

Overall the Rheumatologist was a really super guy, my first impression. Probably late 50's, gregarious, nice. Well built and really easy on the eyes. Hey, if you're going to see a doctor, it's all the more pleasant if he's nice AND nice to look at. But nice is the key.

I told him earlier my mom has been misdiagnosed as having FMS and when she tried to see a Rheumatologist no one would see her. He said that it was a problem but he still sees people with FMS and is trying to get other physicians to come on board.

He also did a few more blood tests my doctor didn't do and took a throat culture to make sure I didn't have a chronic strep going on. I always have sore throats. My tonsils are enlarged but it's probably chronically so.

A very good appointment. Good doctor. I think I got lucky because he's been around for just six months and I caught him before he got too overbooked. My primary's nurse sees him and likes him as well.

So hey, maybe a good thing.


last - next

0 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge