current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Thumbelina

October 21, 2003, 8:48 AM

She did go as expected. Last night. Thanks for all the comments because it's really nice that people seem to get it or try to.

Thumbelina was obviously suffering greatly last night. She was making noises that sounded like a crow cawing and almost like seizure activity. As I was lying on the couch, it hit me suddenly that I have vicodin and I could crush that up and dissolve it in water and put it in a syringe feeder, which I did. Shortly after I fed it to her, she went to sleep and died about an hour later. I know the vicodin caused her to go faster than she would've and that was the point. To get her out of pain and help her go quickly. I know it was the right thing to do, however I still feel strange about it.

Right now she's in a box with a lot of fluffy wood chips and in her coop until we can bury her when the girls get home. They both wrote her notes last night. Before she died, Angela had put a lock of her own hair on Thumbelina. I didn't know that's what it was and took it off of her. Gia said that she had put it there and I told her I was sorry, I didn't realize she had done that.

Gia said she didn't know why she had done it, put her hair on Thumbelina, but I thought it was a really nice thing to do and told her so.

After Thumbelina died, they put their notes on her box. I wish I had a scanner so you could see them. Very cool stuff.

Anyhow...it's ok. But it's not. I'll miss her bee-bopping around in her chicken run!!


last - next

7 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge