current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Totoro

October 12, 2004, 6:02 PM

Anime translation is funny. They overexplain stuff.

"Let us go down the road a mile to where our friend Michiko lives and walk up the 10 steps to knock on her front door which is red in color."

Kind of like that.

SushiBoo loves Totoro.

The dude who makes the films, Hayao Miyazaki, gets a lot of kid details in there that are pretty good characterizations of what kids do. The girls all like the 4 year old sister Mei.

So we were thinking about having the girls invite over 3 kids to go to the movies for a birthday thing but they didn't like that idea. Not because they're spoiled or whatever, it's because they don't want to leave anyone out. The school is different in the way that all the kids know each other and tend to take care one another. We live in an odd place. There are no apartments in our suburb outside Seattle. There aren't a lot of rentals either so everyone generally stays in the same place for a while. Most of the kids have known each other since Kindergarten.

So yeah, an Ice Skating party and $150 later...

That's ok. Because the razor scooter I was thinking about getting CathCath is $19.99.

I hate being ruled by money and there's nothing I can do about it right now. Aside from work per diem. And even that's hard right now. I would give anything to live 30 miles out. Lake Stevens area. Where property is cheaper. Another state maybe. But the girls are finally stable and can't take that away.

I'm trying to figure out what to do with my life and I keep having kids! And we used BC. But it's not a bad thing either.

4 kids. I get on the phone now and can barely talk because the kids suddenly want my attention. Now add another to the mix and I'll never get to talk to anyone.



last - next

0 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge