current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

War, what is it good for?

March 20, 2003, 6:24 PM

Dear Diary:

About right now, I have no respect for the protestors. We're at war right now. And they're protesting. I don't mind peaceful vigils. But people who are protesting and acting disobediently and violently, I don't have respect for. They're taking peace officers away from the things they really need to be focusing on, especially right now.

Yes. War about right now makes me ill. I feel like puking. I get very emotional and worry about the innocent people. I can't help it. I pray for the people I know in Baghdad and surrounding areas. But now we're at war. We can be against it until we're blue in the face and it doesn't change what is happening. I get a little tired of people making fun of and calling Bush some sort of monster, right up there with Saddam Hussien. I'm tired of the above it all attitude. The protestors, in my mind, have proved themselves to be no better than the administration they claim are violent. Hypocrites. They don't want violence and then they start it. They spout off how Bush is evil and the protestors themselves are falling right into negative and dangerous behavior.

Diary, I will tell you who I do have respect for. For the people in Iraq right now. Who are tucking their babies in and wonder if it will be the last time. For the women who had the courage to protest against the Iraqi goverment and were shot and killed for it. For the people having to live and endure this hell. For the soldiers on both sides. Both sides are doing what they think is right. Of course, I support our soldiers more. I want the people I know in the Navy and National Guard to come back safely.

I'll bet 80% of the protestors in America have no clue what hard times are. Even if they have had hard times, I just wonder if it was anything compared to what the Iraqi people have been through. I have not known hard times like they have. True, I can only speak for the person I know from the middle east who was tortured for 6 months in prison because he was suspected of anti-war grafitti and that his 6 year old nephew was shot to death by soldier's because he threw a rock at the soldier's tank. But if it happened to his family and to him, think of the thousands that it has happened to.

I hope peaceful vigils continue. People getting together for a like cause, to wish that the war would end and to pray for all those involved is a great thing.

Violent protesting doesn't get us anywhere. It just leads to more devastation and anger and evil. And hypocrisy. By the very people who say they don't want violence in the first place.

This advocacy minute has been brought to you by Tanya Jean. Sponsored, in part, by Diaryland.


last - next

8 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge