current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

WC

June 18, 2003, 4:56 PM

Second entry.

Didn't do anything real nifty at the wildlife center. We were asked to clean the raptor boxes (raptors are any bird with talons that can rip your voice box out) and walked in to find dead half eaten mice. Which isn't really what I was expecting. Bodies here, heads over there. I got a garbage sack and turned it inside out and used it like a glove that food service people use. Because we're food service for owls and stuff.

They did find the Scoter that was missing last week. He wasn't anywhere near his pool either. This gal made a big deal about how he was not going to go far and I'm thinking Murphy's law, and he was way far away in some wood chips just hangin. He was sent somewhere to molt yesterday. Then he'll come back in the fall and the wildlife center will release him.

I did mostly dishes. And this guy "fixed" the sink and the water pressure was almost not there and I was a little irritated. And then I realized that as I'm taking the dishes out of the disinfectant that my hands are burning like, a lot, and it's probably the disinfectant.

You're supposed to wash your hands as you leave from volunteering which makes great sense aside from the fact that mine were sterile already.


last - next

2 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge