current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Say what?

May 11, 2004, 9:43 PM

So finally I got a job. It's a per diem shift at a Seattle Hospital. I do the orientation this coming Mon. with HR and then work a couple of days this week. Like 3.

I had the interview and the woman said "Here at C we like to hire people with degree's." Not exactly like that. She was a nice lady. But I'm thinkin, HM, that person with the degree has so got it before I do. So I get a call at 6:10PM today and the the manager said I had it. She felt the experience I had in the past was compatible with this particular job. I'll be doing nurse support. It's a consulting nurse call center that I think she said has been in place 18 years.

The reason I think she called me at 6:10PM is that she had called my friend 10 minutes prior My friend Dana works for the same place. She told Dana that she needed to get some employee referral form into HR, which told Dana that I got the job, and I think my new manager realized that and called me. Did that make sense? I don't know.

Who cares.

Not much new going on. Mother's day was great. The girls made some really cool thing for me. Cath made a cone shaped ceramic that holds flowers. She painted it yellow! Gia made me a coaster.

She said to spousal "I made mom a coaster! Just what she needs! OH YEAH BABY!"

And I did! It was a cool mosaic coaster. And spousal got me a gift certificate to BUILD--BEAR! My friend and I are going to do that this week. I'm going to stuff it with luuuuuv.

Or whatever the hell you do at build-a-bear.

My in laws were also there and that was cool. Spousal's dad is so funny. My mom made this coleslaw and he was inhaling it and said "This stuff is amazing..." The guy is skinny. Over 6 feet tall and can eat anything and a lot of it. Stays the same weight. I think BusyBoo will be the same way. That kid is the human garbage can.

Still that distance thing going on with MIL. I told spousal I just have a tough time with that and he said "I think she doesn't understands you."

WHAT THE FUCK is there to understand? It's not complicated. I'm not complicated. Someone wondered if in her eyes I was "damaged goods" and I have always wondered that. She definetly judges, yet she doesn't know me. I was married. I have two kids. I've worked my ass off in my life to support those two little girls, emotionally, physically and in any way. I did it all before spousal came along. I wasn't looking for someone to save me, ya know? I was fine on my own and did the single parent thing on my own. I was at a place where I had dated and didn't want to do that and was surprised that the relationship took the turn that it did, but in a good way. Think his mom was not pleased about that. There have been very few times that I've felt a warm reception from her.

Actually there was a time when they came over that they brought their new dog and paid more attention to it than to their grandkid. It was wierd. I said nothing, but spousal called them on it when I wasn't home and I'm sure she thought I was behind that. I had no idea he felt like he did. I can't help but think that's wierd. You have a grandkid that you have seen maybe 12-15 times in the 2 1/2 years that she's been alive and you bring your new dog along and literally spend the whole time worrying about the dog and BoozerRama hardly got spoken to. That's odd to me. Swear to god I said nothing to spousal because I was sure he'd disagree with me.

Anyway, right now I'm having issues when I usually don't worry about it. She was nice to me Sunday, but keeps her distance. She's definetly a driven person and that's totally fine. But she makes it out like she's this happy-go-lucky kind of gal and I don't think she's that way. I feel she really puts on a face. Now that isnt' saying that she's two faced at all, just don't think she realizes she does that. And the center of attention thing I don't understand either, but only because I'm not that kind of person.

I don't know. I've gotten to the place where I ignore it most of the time. If she wanted to see Boo more, she would. Let's face it, we're a family of 5, 3 of them being kids. It's difficult to take off and travel 1-2 hours to get to their place. That's just the way it is right now. We do go over there, but it's not like we get invited much. I tell them that they can come anytime and even just drop in. But somehow I need to convey that more or differently. But then again, I don't know that his mom or dad really want to take that time to do that. I can't tell with his mom, but his dad seems to enjoy the kids when he's around.

Yeah don't worry about it. But I can write how I feel because its' my diary. Perception is 9/10ths reality. If they wanted to see Boo more, they would. If she wanted to get to know me better, she would. I try to talk to her and I literally get an "Mm." from her, like she could care less what I'm saying. Who wants to talk to someone who responds by saying "Mm." And then talks about something else. I don't. If she's trying to make me feel like an idiot because what I have to say is less than important, she's done her job. I just don't have anything to say anymore. At this point why try when you get

"Mm."


last - next

0 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge