current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Where's George?

September 08, 2003, 9:06 AM

Everyone should have a hobby.

I have mine.

Wheresgeorge.com.

Ever since I was a little kid and saw a show where an uncle had sent his niece a one dollar bill and wrote Happy Birthday on it and sent it to Mexico and then she came to America only to find the same bill 20 years later, I've always wanted to know where the money that has passed through my hands all too quickly has gone. Am I good at run-ons or what?

So I was riding the bus one day (ok, here in Seattle we have a pretty good bus system where a lot of people going into downtown Seattle ride the Metro buses and that doesn't mean we're losers or had a DUI and lost our licenses or whatever, all of us ride the bus at one time or another because it's too expensive to pay for parking) and looked at my dollar bill because it had red on it. It said "See where I've been, track where I go next! www.wheresgeorge.com". And I was scrounging around in my purse to find another dollar bill so that I could look this one up on the internet.

Thus, starting my hobby of defacing ones, fives, tens and twentys. I have a stamp that says just that. Not a stamp saying I deface bills, it says that "See where I've been, track where I go next!" thingy. I have yet to deface a fifty or one hundred dollar bill. I'm waitin. Oh yeah. Someone made a comment that it's illegal to deface money.

Get over it people.

Check out www.wheresgeorge.com.

It's fun. It doesn't take much time. And you can see how far the money that passed through your hands all too quickly has gone.

Go back one entry to read about Erlenweg6


last - next

1 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge