current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Worms

March 13, 2003, 12:59 PM

I came to the conclusion that I cannot save all the worms. The rain here in Seattle has been going on two days straight, making all the worms of the world rise to the surface. I walked along the sidewalk at the girl's school and was bending down, picking up the little mothers and hucking them back to a dryer section of earth. Then the task became way too overwhelming. I just hate to see the little dudes fall victim to some sadistic kid or just get trampled on by a group of kids. What a way to die. I'm sure a better death is to get swallowed whole by a crow. The crows are out in hoards today. It's something out of a Hitchcock movie.

I'm sure it's odd for everyone else to see a grown woman stooping over to pick up worms and toss them back, but I could give a rip.

I volunteered in Gia's class today. There's a little dude in there who was the narrator in my reading group and he was buggin the shit out of me. He was sort of goofing off reading and I was not in the mood. Just read the damn thing and lets get this over with already!

oh.

Then on to lunch with Cathywathydoodlealltheday. Cathywathydoodlealltheday took forfuckingever picking out her lunch. Apparently she didn't want the Teryaki Beef Nuggets (barforama) and she chose the chicken burger and then carefully chose her fruit, and then more fruit. I saw Gia go by with a load of salad. Cathywathydoodlealltheday was still picking out her fruit and I watched Gia go get a napkin, then she went dancing and hopping back to her seat, obviously marching to the beat of her own drum. Oblivious. I like that little hippie chick. Finally Cathywathydoodlealltheday was done with her fruit selection and came to sit down. She eats fast. And talks fast. She told me about the boy who called her and Carolina jerks. While she going on about this "jerk" story, a boy came by with a special jacket on. He was probably 10 or so. He's one of the older kids that does the lunch room supervision. The Lunchroom Gestapo. He told me that I wasn't sitting right in the benches. The kids have to sit facing in and I was facing out. Dude. I got busted by a 10 year old. I then sat correctly and he was happy. I leaned over to my Cathywathydoodlealltheday and said "Dude, I just got busted." and she smiled. She's growing out her bangs and I can't see her eyes. But at least I can see her nose and mouth. She told me about this kid that's making fun of her. She pointed out the girl. I couldn't help feeling really bad for the little girl. She was plump and looked very sad. I told Cathywathydoodlealltheday that she could be having problems and is just taking it out on someone. Cath nodded. She seemed to understand.

Then here's me "If she does it, just tell her to knock it off!" That'll solve it all.

"Knawk it auwwwf!"

Cathy asked me to take her backpack to her class because she had to go to primary singers. She told me exactly where to hang it up and how and when. She's pretty precise, don't you know? After I did that, I walked back to my car, resisting the urge to pick up every worm I saw struggling. Obviously I'm back home now. Booboo-less. She's at her Auntie's for a little bit.

Hangin.


last - next

2 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge