current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Zoooooooooooooooooo

October 25, 2006, 8:37 AM

After a long ...blowing off my diary I'm back. I miss writing every day. Lee now works for a nameless.com and it shall remain namelss. I shall not speak of it here. But.

It was bought out by another .com that shall remain nameless by something billion.

He works from home. Things are steady and stuff. I work part time now at the hospital. Different department altogether.

I used to work at the eye place. The doctors there were very intense.

In this particular field, a good majority of the docs are really tall. What is up with that? I have yet to figure out. Pretty laid back. They still have the doctor attitude. I'll choose to look at that as ULTRA professional. Ha ha.

So the last place, doc's were intense. I did tell my manager at that place they were all primadonna's. He said that was a strong term and I said that wasn't at all a strong term. They were.

He said they all had a different goal in life. I'll give him that. Only a handful would speak to the front desk people.

In this new area, my co-worker and I were in a meeting with the docs and the manager. These are fun because you really get the low-down and what's really going on. One of the physician's in particular wants to change the whole relationship in the department by letting the front desk people know they're invaluable.

I never thought I'd hear anyone admit that or even recognize that. He said he would like to pay them twice as much, but since that isn't happening anytime soon (there's a definate reason too), he's doing other things. For some people, it's job satisfaction more than pay. It seems to be working. He's paired every front desk person with a doctor. This is great because then the front desk personnel have a direct line to the doctor.

I guess in the last physician meeting, my co-worker told me the docs knew that one of the best front desk people was basically driven out (for reasons unknown to anyone). The doctors pay attention. That's new to me.

They're doing a lot more with this. They have such a high turnover. I read statistics that it costs about $4k just to hire someone and about $4k to train them. The more they stick around, the more knowledge they have...etc. You know this. I know this. A lot of people look at employees as dispensible, and you can't replace someone who knows what they're doing inside and out.

We have good benefits and we have good job security. And we have the union, for whatever that's worth.

Other companies are listed in the top 100. Not ours....


Mi**ro**soft has 83K+ employees and they pay them full medical. 100% of the allowed amount, no deductible. They also pay completely for therapy for dependant autistic children.

It's said that Micr0s0ft employees work A LOT. But it's all about what you want and what you're getting out of it.


*****************************

Boo's kindergarten class is doing Z00ph0nics. This is the cutest thing I have ever seen. She spells out and sounds out words by imitating animals.

It's like the YMCA song, only cute.


last - next

2 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge