current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

bitch bitch bitch

November 28, 2002, 8:49 PM

My mom has never asked me this question my life.

"Do you think after touching the Turkey, washing my hands with hot soap and water is enough to disinfect them?"

I'm a little concerned. I think my mom is starting to lose it. She was always the one to tell me to wash my hands with hot, soapy water . Wash the counters off with hot soapy water . What else do you wash your hands with? If any OCD'ers are reading this entry, tell me what you wash your hands with and I'll pass it a long to my mother.

I have a confession. The dead turkey, who we'll call Herbert, was dragged into the house by me. My mother has a hard time getting around and I bought all the Thanksgiving supplies for her. Had I any forethought, I would've had spousal do it, which I will do from now, onward. Lucretia suggested it, but I didn't think of it while I was in the grocery store. Too focused and too used to buying dead animals for Thanksgiving. I used to be the one to tear the meat off the carcass when dinner was all over with. I will no longer be the meat tearer off-er. Spousal and I have already discussed what we will do next year. I'm just trying to get a hold of this vegan thing myself, so it's a learning thing.

My dad doesn't make a big deal about the vegan thing, but my mom sure likes to discuss it in some fashion. I'll take along my PETA list of snappy comebacks.

Q: Can't you eat the stuffing? It was only cooked inside the turkey, there's no meat in it.

A: Thanks, but that's like asking a nonsmoker to ride from Duluth to Daytona in a car with three "Marlboro Men."

Q: How can you eat that fake Turkey? It looks gross and wierd.

A: What's grosser and weirder than sticking pieces of a decapitated, decomposing bird into your mouth?

Q: What about the poor Carrots feelings?

A: It's doubtful that plants feel pain but there's no question that animals do. They all struggle against their slaughter and they all have terror in their eyes just before they're killed. But if you want to skip the carrots also, I respect your regards for roots.

Really, I don't feel this way about the situation. Well I do in some respect, but towards my mom's comments I really feel like saying stuff just to shut her up. She doesn't leave well enough alone. I'm feeling really irritable towards her because while they were on their weekend vacation, my brother and sister in law went over there and cleaned. Brother cleaned out the back entry way. He completely gutted the entire thing. Organized it really well. Sister in law did vacuuming and some other assorted stuff. I cleaned their kitchen entirely. She doesn't have to cook the meal tomorrow, just the turkey and the stuffing. I made three pies (one being vegan pumpkin that I'm thinking I didn't use enough egg replacer in). I'm doing whatever assorted stuff tomorrow like setting the table, making other foods and veggie tray stuff. Anyway, my point being that I was over there tonight and she's still complaining about something. She's too cold, she's too tired. What have you got to be tired about? Why are you complaining? Your kids cleaned your house so you wouldn't have to, your daughter did all the grocery shopping for you two days ago and did more for you tonight and your daughter in law is baking a shit load of stuff for dinner so where is the problem?

I'm really not trying to sound like an ungrateful kid here. I'm just getting frustrated. I think she's getting old way too soon for her age (63). Even grandma was more active than she is. All I hear is complaining about how much she hurts and I'm thinking it's just so she doesn't have to stress out about doing anything. You can turn around and say I do the same thing, but I just don't know that I do. I fight it by volunteering two times a week at PAWS (one of those days being a 3 hour dog walking stint) and once a week at school. I have 3 girls. I work out 3 times a week. (You'd think I'd have a better body damnit!!!!) I know I'm not lazy. I don't say I hurt just so I can lie down and go to sleep. I'm just feeling worn down by all the negativity that she spews. I can try to not be around her as much. I don't know what the answer is.


last - next

1 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge