current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Son-Rise

March 24, 2005, 6:58 AM

I need to stop writing about things like the Terri S case. It really really bothers me and I'm better off talking to Lee about it. I may come across as on a high horse, but that's not the way I feel. I have a problem w/ the death penalty, people of all walks of life not treated w/ respect and people who I think aren't being true with their intentions. Who are they doing it for? Is it really the person they say it's for?

Actions speak louder than words.

I'll just be glad when this is all off the news. Which is why I just turned off the news. I'm much better not even watching it. If I watch TV, that's what I watch.

The chicken is still clucking around out there. They spent the night with the coop door closed and Lee wedged wood in there so a racoon couldn't get his hands in and force the door open. The chicken got her gauze off. I'm going to have to catch her later on and put more on. It would at least make me feel better.

I'm going to watch JessJess and Zachman!

A while back my brother and SIL went to the Son-Rise program training back east.

Zach is making progress by LEAPS AND BOUNDS. It is very amazing. He keeps his clothes on most of the time. He uses the toilet all of the time. He is more social. He's speaking! That's huge. He's forming sentences whereas just 3 months ago he was babbling. In our area in Washington state, the ABA method is preferred and the Son-Rise program isn't taken seriously. It's too bad because autism is prevalent in this area and this program works! They have volunteers coming in at least 20 hours a week JUST to interact with Zach and he's not just ineracting with the volunteers, it's everyone.

It's huge. And not well known in this area. And if it works, what's the problem?

I think it's considered more Holistic than MEDICALLY ACCEPTED. But it works. Above all else, Zach is much calmer.

So today the baby (Chrissy) is going in for an evaluation because she's still not speaking like she should. She may have a delay, she also may just be very stubborn. I would say stubborn, but CUTE and funny.


last - next

7 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge