current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

-

September 13, 2003, 8:56 PM

Since I can't sleep due to the neighbors unsupervised barking dog, I thought I'd write. There's a neighborhood in back of us that's separated by fences and these fucking idiots put their large schnauzer outside to bark without supervision.

Spousal just took off in his truck to drive around to that very neighborhood to talk to them. All of us hear the dog. All the neighbors. Every night. And he can bark way past eleven. I hear the neighbors two houses down yelling for the dog to shut up or yell for them to take their dog inside. And they do. However, you'd think they'd have sense enough to keep their dog in after a reasonable hour, like 8 or 9 pm. Just when you're drifting off to sleep, you hear the rapid spitfire barking. Like a machine gun. There should be a brand of artillery named The Schnauzer. There is no reason unsupervised schnauzer should be unsupervised. Would you put your 5 year old kid outside to scream and run around at that hour? No. They get bored and look for stuff to do.

Alrighty, the chicken coop is done. The chicken run, done. I put Thumbelina out there even though the top hadn't been finished. I put her in the coop and eventually she made her way into the chicken tunnel and out to the yard. She poked her head out and look around first. Then she popped down and started doing her little chicken walk around, pecking and checking it out. When the other chickens saw me come outside with her box, they all ran to my feet and and they were already waiting to check out Thumbelina. They were clucking to each other.

Thumbelina was doing a full tour of the entire chicken run and all of the chickens were outside the run following her every move. Clucking. Conspiring. Clucking more. Checking her out. Even trying to sit atop her A-Frame house. Unsuccesfully. Because it has a sheet metal protector at the very top and they can't grip. Chickens make quite an awful thud thud thud while tumbling down an A-Frame coop.

Dad came over and made the frame for the top and I painted it after he left. I painted and then had to get inside the run to paint and Thumbelina didn't get all freaked out. As if she enjoyed the company. I saw a neighbor cat during this time and decided it was time to staple the wire on the top. I'm doing this and it's pretty loud and Thumbelina stayed right close. Apparently Bantams are pretty friendly.

I put a 60 watt bulb inside a pretty large dome looking light thing. Porcelain protected whatever. It's hanging in there pretty sturdily and just that is warm enough. She's been in the house all this time and it's getting cold at night. She needs some hardening up, ya know? I made her a nest area too, we'll see if she uses it.

Hey, I'm focused on the chickens. It's cool. Better than being focused on the pain.

And the vicodin isn't really cutting into it. And I've not been taking them much either.


last - next

6 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge