current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

High Mountain

November 22, 2002, 10:33 AM

I went to volunteer in Angela's class. One of the girls in my reading group, we'll call her High Mountain, had a black eye. I thought nothing of it until I asked her how she got it. High Mountain said she didn't want to talk about it, which immediately set my thought process going. Just a sense I get from her family background is that abuse it quite a possibility. High Mountain is not my favorite child but I know that she acts out for a reason.

I took Mr. E into the hallway and asked him if he knew how she obtained her black eye. He told me he had questioned High Mountain about it. Her response was first that she didn't want to talk about it, then it was that she had run into a door at her grandmas house. I let him know her response to me and just wanted to let him know. He said that was interesting and would question her more about it. Now I'm going to be watching her like a hawk. If High Mountain sticks to that story, ok, but I don't buy it. High Mountain and her dad live with his parents. The mom lives elsewhere. High Mountain spends two weeks living with mom and then two weeks with her dad. Tough on her. I know she doesn't get a lot of attention, or at least good attention, because she does anything to get attention of any kind. Usually she misbehaves. She's a very smart child. It's really bothering me.


last - next

0 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge