current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Tree lighting

December 08, 2002, 8:19 PM

Booboolulu is sitting in the corner singing her Baba, dada, momeee song.

It's pretty cute. She has that purse too. Queen fuckin' Elizabeth.

Not much to tell today. We went to the Brier Annual Christmas tree lighting. The girls and I waited in line. Rather, *I* waited in line while they played on the playground area. It was freezing but at least there were many people around, unlike my Blair Witch night last night. (I'm glad there are fellow dumbasses out there. I was beginning to think I was alone). Booboo did not like Santa at all. She hid her face in her daddy's shoulder and then when she was handed over, she screamed her big little head off. She did like candy canes. There are people out there that say NO SUGAR for their babies. I say get over it. Live a little. Let the kid have a candy cane.

Another dumbass moment. I volunteered for a Yule thing tomorrow at the Unitarian church when I'd rather go to Sunday circle at the Rowan Tree. I'm just feeling like I can't handle helping for Yule since I'm going to be spending time at an ice rink with 10 girls tomorrow for Gia's B day party. But I said I'd do it. Not realizing at the time. Even though this party has been planned for a while. It's hard going to a Unitarian church because they don't have a theology. You kinda have to build your own. That's so difficult. I like the Rowan Tree, but I'm looking for something a little more feminine, which would be the Reclaiming Tradition. Unitarian is more appropriate for the kids since a lot of the wiccan covens don't really have kids programs. I'm teaching Cathy stuff at home, but it would be nice if she could meet other kids that were in the traditions. Unitarians are big into politics and you wear pretty much what you want, whether it be jeans or dressy. People have their nose, eye, lips rings and that's ok. I have yet to see gay/lesbian couples in this church though. Not that I'm on alert for Gay people, but at the other Unitarian church there were many couples.

I'll tell you a story and you tell me what you think. Sometimes the UU's are so into being "correct" that I think they try to be too "correct". One of the lesbian couples there had a boy. They were totally nice and cool and all. They got pregnant again and were going to have another baby. When the baby actually came, I got call after call with people asking if we could help out and brings meals to them or do housework. I'm sitting there thinking...Hmmm, I just had a baby and no one did that for me. Don't get me wrong, it's great that they got help and god knows when you have a baby, you need all the help you can get. It was irritating though, that the entire church rallied around them yet I honestly put myself out there to try and meet people and hardly got a word out of anyone. So I was thinking "Screw you". Because I'm a bitch about the whole thing.

Carol? (she's the lesbian expert)

I think our joining that church was done way too soon. Bad timing with my pregnancy/illness and spousal working a 2nd job. I don't think it was the right fit for us.

Blah blah blah, Betty, blah blah blah.

Boring. Me. Later dudes!


last - next

2 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge