current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Short hair. Or no hair.

January 27, 2003, 2:14 PM

She did it. My neighbor had her head shaved. Her husband did it. I took pictures. He cut it down pretty short before hand and did a great job doing that. I think I might hire him to do my hair. Anyway, he shaved it down to about a 2 and then a 1 and then with the straight razor. Her head was as smooth as a baby's butt. Her kids reactions to it were less than nice (she has 5 kids). I heard the term "ugly" come out of one child's mouth. After a minute, I excused myself to go look at boo and told the kids to knock it off. Actually I just told them to stop, they don't need to use those words.

In a way, I understand that they must be mortified, kids want things to be "normal". On the other hand, Barbie thought this out long, even before her manic episode, and it's her head. I can't help it that her kid's attitude pissed me off. I like it. It really brings out her eyes, which are dark and fawn-like. Most everyone had a negative reaction to her when she spoke of doing it. I think people's fear is the same as a child's. It's not something they themselves would do so they react quite negatively when someone, especially a woman, decides to do it. R said that people at the kid's school actually pulled him aside, very concerned.

I wonder why we're so hung up on the norm.


last - next

4 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge