current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Effexor

April 16, 2004, 8:17 PM

So once Spritopias said that he wasn't taking meds because his friend said that they basically killed your spirit or something to that effect. And I was like "huh."

So when you're on anti depressants, especially Effexor, for over 2 years you sort of forget what life was like before.

So for a lot of reasons, I weaned myself off of Effexor. Been totally off for 3 weeks. I've been sick as hell for 3 weeks. Puking up my guts. Dizzy, brain being wierd, face going numb, not eating, not wanting to eat.

But gradually I'm getting better. And the fucking fatigue that has plagued me for 2 years to where I've slept my fucking life away is just gone. I wake up fine. I go to sleep fine. I have no problems sleeping. I feel rested. Fatigue fucking ruled my goddamn life for these past 2 years.

I asked my doctor repeatedly to get off this shit because I just didn't like it. My self worth was at an all time fucking low, to the point where I would hide in the bathroom to get dressed.

Aside from being sick and having withdrawal problems, I'm ....not sick? I still have my joint problems, that didn't go away. But fatigue was my biggest battle in life.

So when I first started feeling "off" 2 years ago, I was on prozac and thought that's what caused it. Went off prozac. Doctor's got after me for stopping. Put me on Paxil, which was about the same to me as effexor. Like if I didn't take it a day, I'd be distraught. Not how it's supposed to be. But I fell into that place everyone else seems to.

Yeah, sure, I feel better. I think I feel better.

No fucking fatigue. I wake up fine. Going off this fucked up stuff isn't fun. My version of hell on earth. I wish I had never even heard of this.

Not all anti depressants are this way. I know. Some can help people. But this one. I think everyone should stay the fuck away. There's gotta be something else out there that can work for people without going through this hell. The point of anti depressants is you're supposed to take them for a WHILE, not forever. You're supposed to get off of them within a year. A lot of people. The typical depressed person. Which I really didn't feel at the time, but I was having pain issues. So it was in my head.

Coincidentally, two of my friends were weaning themselves off of this and we just told each other, not planning it. We all are going through the exact same stuff. Although the one has suicidal ideation.

I just hope my brain isn't fucked up for good. I'm having problems with time passage. Like 2 hours go by and I think it's been 20 minutes.

FDA might as well approve crack.


last - next

0 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge