current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Freaking out people

March 31, 2003, 11:42 AM

I'm on the RAWSEATTLE yahoo email list and this particular email was posted addressing the Raw Foods group:

"I have been 100% raw for 21 months. I developed a really bad tooth ache recently and asked for help and many of you were kind enough to respond. I finally decided to try to fast since I got to the point where anything I ate or drank caused too much pain. I am now in my 3rd.day (65th hour) and wondering if I should continue. The 1st. day I was just hungry all day. The 2nd. day I was very hungry all day and by late afternoon starting to get really light headed."

I really wanted to respond but didn't, so I'll respond here.

Hey, Einstein. Did you think that maybe, just maybe, you ought to go to the dentist? Just think about it. Put it in the background there.

I understand that fasting is a really big deal in this group. Atilla is a huge proponant of fasting when he gets sick or steps on a nail. The Raw Foodists aren't big on doctors, most of them see naturopaths and I understand why they do that. I don't see the dentist as being something that's going to mess with their raw living. I suppose any medications would for the short term, but why let your teeth rot out of your head?

Someone else responded to this guy very nicely suggesting in an indirect way that the dentist could help him. I guess a fruitarian in the group had to have all her teeth capped because she ate a lot of dehydrated fruits. So far, my teeth feel good.

___________________________________________________________________________

I went to my dad's this morning to pick up my car. He was kind enough to put new brake pads on the front and I feel relieved. My mom is having a hard time getting going this morning so I ran up to church for her to check her messages and email.

Then I painted my toenails. I don't know why. I shouldn't be attracting any attention to my feet. My middle toe looks like a hunchback. It matches both small toes now. It seems I am not going to stop until all toes are looking the same.

________________________________________________________________________

I drove home with bare feet. Someone told me once that was illegal. Whatever.

______________________________________________________________________

It's quite chilly today. I guess the global warming thing isn't happening as fast as I thought it was.

____________________________________________________________________________

I forgot to mention that when I was walking dogs and letting them curl up in my lap on Saturday, this gal was bitten by a cat. No doubt about it, he got her good, but she was freaking out. I can understand that hurts like a son of a gun, but the cat bit her finger. She was squatting down in front of the sink, shaking like a leaf. Yelling out a lot of profanity. Hysterical.

This morning on the news it showed a soldier who had just been shot in the leg. He was saying, "Wow, that really hurts." He had a pained look on his face. That was it.

I shouldn't be irriated with the woman who was bitten by the cat, but the hysterical part really irritated me. The only time I've ever been that way is when BooBoo was a newborn and her umbilical site started bleeding profusely. I freaked out. My other babies hadn't bled at all and I just about keeled over. Such a tiny baby bleeding like that was awful.

But if I bleed, no biggie. Watch next week a cat will bite me and I'll report in here how I ran screaming from cat ISOLATION with a cat hanging from my arm. I had that happen when I was about 8 and watching a scary commercial on TV. My cat was half asleep on the couch and I was sitting right in front of her on the floor. The commercial must have scared her because she started growling. I jumped up and she flew at me and sunk her teeth and claws into my leg. Once I pried her off, she looked really sheepish. I'm quite sure I didn't go into hysterics then.

_________________________________________________________________________

Ok, I think I'm just about done bashing people for the day.


last - next

1 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge