current # archives # profile # links # rings # cast # reviews # quizzes
email # gbook # notes # host # image # design

Rowan Atikinson

August 07, 2003, 1:27 AM

I saw this banner that said "Grits and Eggs" and it reminded me of Hominy. Man, I love hominy. My mom makes it when we have a gathering of people.

And I always sing "HOMINY" to Billy Joel's song "HONESTY".

"Hominy, is such a..."

Anyway, I got home at 11 last night from PAWS because we're one person short and it really makes a huge difference in what time we get out of there.

I was trained on feeding baby squirrels and that was a good thing. Although I picked one up to feed him (you can sure tell the him's from the her's because the him's have some serious cajones) and knew he was going to have to be put down. His mouth area was almost blue looking and his breathing was labored. We had one of the rehabilitators come in and she took one look at him and took him to the halothane bucket. They use halothane to euthanize the small small animals because it's a very painless way to go and I'm sure it's hard to euthanize such small animals using injections.

Still, it made me pretty meloncholy. People talk about how fragile life is and however corny that sounds, it's true and you see it first hand at the wildlife center. The dogs and cats are pretty hardy animals. With the wildlife, there's a lot more care involved. The baby bird nursery caretakers spend their entire shift feeding baby birds. When they're done with one set, it's time to go on to feed the set that they just fed priror. You have to be very sure that you're feeding them the correct amounts of food so they don't get sick and you don't compromise their digestive systems.

The baby seal is still doing great and it's a girl! The vet took everyone downstairs to show them.

He said that notice how there's NOTHING THERE. It's flat. If it were a boy, there would be something THERE. See, nothing here.

So we all kept peeking at her. She's now in the tub full time with a platform (can't remember what they call it and they have a name for it, but why don't they just call it a platform?) that she can get up on to get out of the water. I looked at her once and she was on her back with her tail in the water. She was rolling towards the water and kept correcting herself. She's SO CUTE. You just want to pick her up and rock her.

I WANT TO BE HER MOMMY.

But I can't. Because I'm the wrong species and stuff.

Tonight Sis and I are going to see that movie with Rowan Atikinson. Because we're huge Mr. Bean fans and even though it's not a Mr. Bean movie, we love the Rowan man.


last - next

3 comments so far

Tanya McBee Gunby | Create Your Badge